Carl Cleves & Parissa Bouas – Out Of Australia (2010) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Carl Cleves & Parissa Bouas – Out Of Australia (2010)
SACD ISO (2.0/MCH): 3,12 GB | 24B/88,2kHz Stereo FLAC: 969 MB | Full Artwork | 3% Recovery Info
Label/Cat#: Stockfisch Records # SFR 357.4060.2 | Country/Year: Germany 2010
Genre: Folk, World, & Country | Style: Folk, Acoustic

Musical travelogue is distinguished by stunning vocals and unique instrumentation.

Flemish born singer/songwriter Carl Cleves and Greek-Australian vocalist Parissa Bouas have captured the hearts of folk enthusiasts in Australia. They are celebrated for their unique acuity for global storytelling, reflected in relevant social and political narratives. Together since 1991, as members of the Cleves-formed band, The Hottentots, the duo continue to perform and record together. In the tradition of authentic folk music, they travel extensively, integrating different cultures and auditory influences into original compositions. Cleves, who holds degrees in Law, African Music and Contemporary Composition, inhabits the aura of an international beat poet. Influenced by a collage of inspirational artists like Bob Marley, Abdullah Ibrahim, Arthur Rimbaud, Townes Van Zandt, and Kurt Weill, passion and conscience become recurrent contexts.

Out Of Australia, consisting of twelve original songs, is a ruminating perspective on worldwide society. Coalesced by folk-based guitar constructs and emotional vocals, each track has a unique feel. A centerpiece, “The Bethlehem Bell Ringer” examines the plight of innocent victims in the Palestinian struggle. Parissa Bousa’s incandescent voice is heartfelt, and the hymnal chorus, no less than exultant. The use of a tambura (string drone instrument) adds a somber Middle Eastern tone. The plights of diamond mine workers (“Way Down In The Mines”) in Johannesburg, and ethnic genocide (The Coniston Massacre”), are recounted without overindulgence. Framed by the steady guitar of Cleves, and his idiosyncratic baritone (not unlike Scottish troubadour Donovan), there is a consistent lyrical aesthetic.

Not all of the serious minded themes find a proper elucidation. “Graceful” attempts to juxtapose a breezy tenor and HIV reference, with incongruous results.
African spirit is rendered with joyous abandon on the folk chant “Mother’s Song”. Backup singer Lea Morris blends with Bouas in perfect harmony. “Sharpening A Knife”, an adaptation of a poem by Nanao Sakaki has a Gaelic cadence, with chorus repetition and a soaring lead vocal. In addition to the milieu of international social mores and politics, there is a sensitive coloration by various Middle Eastern and African instruments.

This nomadic anthology captures the pathos of the human condition with originality and verve.
Multichannel SACD is an ideal medium for this music. The understated nuances of the various stringed instruments are reproduced with clear acoustics, whether it’s a prominent rhythm guitar, or delicate lute. Tonal quality of the voices is flawless. The depth and texture of the vocals (in particular the ensembles) refine the musical eminence. Audiophile Audition

Carl und Parissa sind ein Duo, das in seiner australischen Heimat beträchtliche Popularität genießt. Dass man beim Plattentitel Out Of Australia unwillkürlich an Out Of Africa denken muss, ist wohl mehr als Zufall. Scheint doch in Out of eine tiefe emotionale Verbundenheit mit einem Land, seiner Natur und Kultur zum Ausdruck zu kommen. Eine Vermutung, die sich zur Gewissheit steigert, wenn dieses Album sich mit jedem Stück weiter entwickelt.

Parissas glockenreine Stimme mutet an wie eine Einladung der Baumgeister und Flussnymphen, scheint einem Traumpfad zu folgen. Carls warme Stimme und sein Gitarrenspiel erden diesen Gesang, halten ihn auf einem Teppich dezent keltischer Melodielinien, in dem die poetische Auseinandersetzung mit der Welt eingewirkt ist zwischen Freudentanz und lebensweisem Annehmen der Schattenbereiche. Ein Vegemite-Sandwich mit Lebensthemen, Ätherisches über der heißen Erde des Kontinents Down Under: Hörer, kommst Du zum Folk, so sage, Du habest uns hier singen hören wie das Land es befahl. in-akustic


1    Into The Light     04:04.03
2    Eclipse Of The Sun 02:24.07
3    Don’t Flowers Grow 03:29.31
4    The Bethlehem Bell Ringer 05:19.76
5    Way Down 03:56.60
6    House Of Sorrow 04:01.40
7    Mother’s Song 03:38.93
8    The Coniston Massacre 05:00.17
9    Graceful 04:30.67
10    Zeco 04:57.43
11    Sharpening A Knife 03:48.51
12    Carmen 04:45.33

Produced and recorded by Günter Pauler
Surround-Mix, -Mastering and CD-PreMastering by Hans-Jörg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics
Mastering monitors: B&W Nautilus-801 D



Info + Art

%d bloggers like this: