Poco – Pickin’ Up The Pieces (1969) [Audio Fidelity 2013] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Poco – Pickin’ Up The Pieces (1969) [Audio Fidelity 2013]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 39:42 minutes | Scans included | 1,61 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 813 MB
Mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering | Audio Fidelity # AFZ-158

Poco dealt with a lot during the recording of their debut album – the sudden departure of bassist Randy Meisner, the frustration of working with an engineer who didn’t quite get what they were trying for, and a lot of pressure to deliver a solid collection of country-rock songs – and came up with this startlingly great record, as accomplished as any of Buffalo Springfield’s releases, and also reminiscent of the Beatles and the Byrds. Pickin’ Up the Pieces is all the more amazing when one considers that Jim Messina and George Grantham were both covering for the departed Meisner in hastily learned capacities on bass and vocals, respectively. The title track is practically an anthem for the virtues of country-rock, with the kind of sweet harmonizing and tight interplay between the guitars that the Byrds, the Burritos, and others had to work awhile to achieve. The mix of good-time songs (“Consequently So Long,” “Calico Lady”), fast-paced instrumentals (“Grand Junction”), and overall rosy feelings makes this a great introduction to the band, as well as a landmark in country-rock only slightly less important (but arguably more enjoyable than) Sweetheart of the Rodeo.


01. Foreward
02. What A Day
03. Nobody’s Fool
04. Calico Lady
05. First Love
06. Make Me A Smile
07. Short Changed
08. Pickin’ Up The Pieces
09. Grand Junction
10. Oh Yeah
11. Just In Case It Happens, Yes Indeed
12. Tomorrow
13. Consequently So Long







%d bloggers like this: