Xuefei Yang – Heartstrings (2015) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Xuefei Yang – Heartstrings (2015)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 70:19 minutes | Front/Rear cover | 2,82 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear cover | 1,29 GB

Xuefei Yang was born in Beijing, now based in the UK, acclaimed as one of the world’s finest classical guitarists. She’s won numerous prizes in music competitions. Having previously recorded albums of Bach and Britten, on this disc Yang has chosen to explore her own cultural roots, managing to bring different narratives and styles together with great success. This is her debut on Decca label and the album features nineteen pieces ranging from Chinese folk melody to Jazz hits and Spanish guitar to Classics.

Yang, with her outstanding technique and her “East-meets-West” experience, gives an indubitably charming performance in Piazzolla’s jazz-styled Milonga del Angel and popular Spanish guitar pieces. However, the most attractive selection on the album is her transcription and interpretation of Fisherman’s Song at Eventide, a piece of traditional Chinese music. Widely popular in North China, Fisherman’s Song is a three-part piece played on a guzheng, a Chinese plucked zither. It depicts a sunset scene with a fisherman going back home after a tiring but fruitful day. The guzheng player imitates fishermen’s songs and the sound of waves, and builds up a jovial and warm atmosphere. In the process of transcribing it into a guitar piece, Yang makes utmost efforts to sustain the Oriental elements as well as to respect characteristics of the classical guitar. It is a challenging attempt and happily she finds a subtle balance between the two instruments. The whole disc seems like a collage as Yang chooses not to follow a certain topic or theme to connect the pieces. This, to some degree, coincides with the cultural characteristics of the Canadian mosaic. All of the pieces, although drawn from various cultural backgrounds, are lovely, delicate and easy on the ear. Some talk about love affairs (e.g. Takemitsu’s Secret Love and Elgar’s Salut d’ Amour) while others depict natural and mental landscapes.


01. Falla: Spanish Dance From La Vida Breve
02. Debussy: La Fille Aux Cheveux De Lin
03. Albéniz: Torre Bermeja
04. Elgar: Salut D’amour
05. Fisherman’s Song At Evertide (Chinese Traditional)
06. The Bonnie, Bonnie Banks Of Loch Lomond (Scottish Traditional)
07. Llobet: Scherzo Vals
08. Schubert: Standchen
09. Paganini: Caprice No. 24
10. Brouwer: Berceuse (cancion De Cuna)
11. Pujol: Guajira
12. Mussorgsky: Il Vecchio Castello (Pictures At An Exhibition)
13. Charles Converse: What A Friend (arr. Takemitsu)
14. Sammy Fain: Secret Love (arr. Takemitsu)
15. John Williams: Song From A Bird, No. 3
16. Roland Dyens: Tango En Skai
17. Piazzolla: Milonga Del Angel
18. Andrew York: Sunburst
19. Barrios: Una Limosna Por El Amor De Dios

Produced by Xuefei Yang. Engineered by Arne Akselberg. Edited by Ian Watson.
Recorded on August 14 & 15, 2014 at Potton Hall, Suffolk, U.K.







%d bloggers like this: