Vasily Petrenko, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra – Rachmaninov: Symphony 2 & Dances from Aleko (2012) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Vasily Petrenko, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra – Rachmaninov: Symphony 2 & Dances from Aleko (2012)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 72:57 minutes | Basic Scans included | 2,01 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Basic Scans included | 1,78 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Basic Scans included | 1,46 GB
2014 | Warner Music Japan # WPCS-12630

For the second installment of their Rachmaninoff symphonies cycle for EMI, Vasily Petrenko and his Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra cover the most popular and significant of the corpus, the Second Symphony in E minor. Also to the disc added the three delightful fragments from Rachmaninoff’s early opera Aleko (1892) – The Women’s Dance, Intermezzo and the Men’s Dance – are offered as appetizer.

Following quickly on the early 2012 release of his recording of Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony, Vasily Petrenko’s album of the Symphony No. 2 in E minor and three Dances from Aleko shows the charismatic conductor is on a roll. While the earlier disc was a little risky in presenting less familiar Rachmaninov, this popular symphony will secure a ready audience for Petrenko, and bring the music the attention it justly deserves. Aleko was an early opera, and these exotic dances, which are remiscent of Tchaikovsky, are entertaining filler that add considerable value to this CD. But Rachmaninov’s fans may cut to the chase and listen to the symphony, which is played with high energy, lush textures, and vivid sonorities by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Petrenko and his musicians display tremendous sympathy and passion for the music, so the expressions are spot on and the sound of the orchestra is gorgeous in EMI’s outstanding reproduction. While some may already have a favorite version of this work in their collections, adding this excellent rendition would only enhance their appreciation. This is Petrenko’s second recording with the RLPO for EMI Classics, and it promises a fruitful relationship for all parties involved, especially listeners.


01. Dances from Aleko: Women’s Dance
02. Dances from Aleko: Intermezzo
03. Dances from Aleko: Men’s Dance
04. Symphony 2 in E minor Op.27: I. Largo – Allegro moderato
05. Symphony 2 in E minor Op.27: II. Allegro molto
06. Symphony 2 in E minor Op.27: III. Adagio
07. Symphony 2 in E minor Op.27: IV. Allegro vivace

Produced by John Fraser (4-7) & Andrew Cornall (1-3).
Balance Engineer: David Piggot (1-3) & Arne Akselberg (4-7). Editing by Simon Kiln.
Recorded on June 28, 2012 (1-3) & November 1-2, 2011 at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool.




%d bloggers like this: