SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart, Marcus Creed – Anton Bruckner – Mass in E Minor / Motets (2008) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart, Marcus Creed – Anton Bruckner – Mass in E Minor / Motets (2008)
SACD ISO: 3,64 GB (Stereo + MCH DSD) | FLAC @ 24bit/88.2kHz: 1,04 GB | Full Artwork | 5% Rec. Info
Label/Cat#: hänssler CLASSIC # SACD 93.199 | Country/Year: Germany 2008
Genre: Classical | Style: Sacred, Vocal, Romantic

Review by James Leonard
Can there ever be too many recordings of Bruckner’s sacred music? For fans of the Austrian romantic mystic, the answer is no. After all, how could there be too many recordings of some of the most honest, most devotional, and most inspired spiritual music of the second half of the nineteenth century? And for them, this disc with Marcus Creed leading the SWR Stuttgart Vokalensemble in a selection of seven motets plus the E minor Mass will be a blessing. As listeners who have followed Creed’s career know, he is a skillful choral conductor able to draw musically balanced but emotionally affecting performances from his singers, and this Bruckner recording proves no less impressive than his classic Brahms recordings. In the a cappella motets, Creed sculpts the Stuttgart choir’s performances into warm-hearted hymns to God while in the wind band accompanied mass he creates a flowing five-movement monument to his Catholic faith. Older listeners may miss the spiritual passion that the great Eugen Jochum brought to these works in his classic Deutsche Grammophon recordings, but younger listeners will surely welcome not only Creed’s smoother performances, but Hänssler’s amazingly clean, digital sound. allmusicguide

All of Bruckner’s music seems to lead to God, the inspirer, the protector of dark hours, to whom the master of Saint Florian dedicated his last unfinished symphony. Symphonic music that is purely romantic and powerful, rooted in its era, it paradoxically does not seem to echo his sacred music, which is of another time and age, embracing numerous formal currents all at once. Ernst Kurth, Bruckner’s biographer, writes: “In Bruckner one notes this basic feeling which put its stamp on the old French mass, as well as on the Dutch mass, on the reform of church music undertaken by Palestrina, on the Roman and Venetian School, on all the transformations sustained by Italian and German church music with instrumental accompaniment since the Renaissance and the Austrian baroque era until the classical; and it is this feeling which allowed him to compare himself, insofar as form, to classic models all the while reconciling the religious spirit of the long past to the romantic spirit. Bruckner’s real historic place, this desire which, starting from medieval mysticism, elevated him to the summits of romantic susceptibility, is nowhere better found than in his church music… .” The present recording proposes his Mass N°2 in E minor in its 1882 revised form, as well as the Motets. Marcus Creed, who has also recorded extraordinary versions of Brahms’ choral works, once again delights us. The perfect tonal balance the Vokalensemble of Stuttgart radiates is a marvel at every moment. Bruckner’s sacred music thereby seems eternal. Here is a Super Audio CD of rare musical pertinence: a summit.
Jean-Jacques Millo, Translation Lawrence Schulman sa-cd.net


1 Os justi (1879) 4:15
2 Virga jesse (1885) 4:04
3 Locus iste (1869) 3:13
4 Afferentur regi (1861) 1:36
5 Ave Maria (1861) 3:38
6 Christus factus est (1884) 6:05
7 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – I. Kyrie 7:43
8 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – II. Gloria 6:25
9 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – III. Credo 9:40
10 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – IV. Sanctus 3:37
11 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – V. Benedictus 6:21
12 Mass in E minor N°2 (version 1882) – VI. Agnus Dei 4:55
13 Pange lingua (1868) 4:46

Recording: 26.03.2007-30.03.2007, Kath. Kirche St. Michael, Stuttgart-Sillenbuch

Disc Made In Germany







Info + Art



%d bloggers like this: