Song Circus – Anatomy Of Sound (2015) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Song Circus – Anatomy Of Sound (2015)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:00 minutes | Scans included | 2,66 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,01 GB

Through minutiae explorations into the very microlevels of sound anatomy, through vocal investigations into, as well as the activation of, spatial premises and through the discovery of timbral qualities of objects, Song Circus masters an unusual audial vocabulary that expands the idea of what music can be. The Stavanger-based chamber ensemble Song Circus consists of five professional Norwegian singers, led by Liv Runesdatter, who specialise in contemporary music and improvisation. Song Circus has enduring relationships with several composers and creating artists. The ensemble has given life to an unusual and fascinating vocabulary of sound combined with rare musical precision.

For more than four years, Song Circus has collaborated with Ruben Sverre Gjertsen on his Landscape with Figures. The human voice is a central part of the instrumental palette of this project and much of the music is the result of the joint efforts of the ensemble and the composer. Landscapes with Figures is partially open in its form; the music is tremendously detailed and intricately notated and requires considerable musical and vocal technique and virtuosity. The composition stretches the limits of tonal flexibility and microtonal precision. Landscape with Figures IIa is composed for performance with eight or sixteen sound channels. As part of the process, Gjertsen studied the academic work of Wishart and Ferneyhoug, and their systems of notation and compositions.

Ole-Henrik Moe’s Persefone is an acoustic piece written for five female voices and wine glasses. It is a textural study of vocal sound, dynamics and microtonality. Moe took inspiration from Morton Feldman when he wrote Persefone and, in the first part, he stretches silence and slowness so far that any sense of a horizontal timeline dissolves into a music of state.

Immersive Sound is a completely new conception of the musical experience. Recorded music is no longer a matter of a fixed one-dimensional setting, but rather of a three-dimensional enveloping situation. Stereo can be described as a flat canvas and Surround Sound as a field, but Immersive Sound is a sculpture that you can literally move around and relate to spatially; surrounded by music you can move about in the aural space and choose angles, vantage points and positions.


01. Landscape with Figures, scene 1
02. Landscape with Figures, scene 2
03. Landscape with Figures, scene 3
04. Landscape with Figures, scene 4
05. Landscape with Figures, scene 5
06. Landscape with Figures, scene 6
07. Landscape with Figures, scene 7
08. Landscape with Figures, scene 8
09. Landscape with Figures, scene 9
10. Landscape with Figures, scene 10
11. Landscape with Figures, scene 11
12. Landscape with Figures, scene 12
13. Persefone

Recorded in DXD 24-bit/352 kHz, in April 2015 at Uranienborg Church, Norway.



%d bloggers like this: