Sir Neville Marriner, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields – Gordon Getty: Orchestral Works (2010) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Sir Neville Marriner, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields – Gordon Getty: Orchestral Works (2010)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:17 minutes | Front + PDF Booklet | 3,02 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front + PDF Booklet | 1,45 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front + PDF Booklet | 1,24 GB
DSD Recording | Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Label: Pentatone # PTC 5186356

Sir Neville Marriner and the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields present these highly acclaimed world premiere recordings of orchestral works by Gordon Getty. Although most of Getty’s output is vocal music, he has also written for orchestra, chamber ensembles and solo piano and this programme showcases six orchestral pieces, including the overture from his first opera, “Plump Jack”.

Gordon Getty, by some reckonings the world’s richest individual, is also a classical composer. He has generously supported opera and also composed the Falstaff-themed Plump Jack, whose overture is included here. Most of the music for which he has gained wide attention is vocal, but here is a selection of instrumental pieces, recorded in London, for a boutique Dutch audiophile label no less, with the 86-year-old Neville Marriner returning to the podium before the Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields to do the honors. The London location is actually the least surprising, for Getty’s style is more British than American. Getty has said that he is “two-thirds a 19th-century composer,” and the Stravinsky-like dances in the Ancestor Suite, extracted from ballet music that you may not recognize as being inspired by the writings of Poe, doesn’t do much to jazz up the conservative atmosphere. Yet the music doesn’t exactly fit the neo-Romantic category; it’s economical and brisk, for one thing, and it’s full of little flashes of novelty – listen to the end of the Overture to Plump Jack, for example – that don’t come from any other specific place. The short pieces on the second half of the program are pretty light stuff, but taken for what it is, Getty’s music is competently done. Transparent sonics and a performance by the ensemble perhaps best suited to the music are both helpful, and you might put this disc on a top-notch stereo and quiz your friends as to the composer. Booklet notes are in English, German, and French.


01. Overture “Plump Jack”
02. Ancestor Suite – Zwei Walzer
03. Ancestor Suite – Waltz of the Ancestors
04. Ancestor Suite – Schottische
05. Ancestor Suite – Waltz – Ländler
06. Ancestor Suite – Polka – Polonaise
07. Ancestor Suite – Gavotte
08. Ancestor Suite – Gothic Waltz
09. Ancestor Suite – March – Sarabande – Presto
10. Ancestor Suite – Madeline
11. Ancestor Suite – Ewig Du
12. Ancestor Suite – Finale
13. Tiefer und Tiefer
14. Homework Suite – Seascape
15. Homework Suite – Giga
16. Homework Suite – Ghost Waltz
17. Homework Suite – Berceuse
18. Homework Suite – Night Horses
19. The Fiddler of Ballykeel
20. Raise the Colors

Academy Of St. Martin In The Fields
Kenneth Sillito – leader
Neville Marriner – Conductor

Produced by Job Maarse. Balance Engineer & Editing by Erdo Groot (Polyhymnia International)
Recording Engineers: Roger de Schot (Polyhymnia International) & Chris Barrett (Air Lyndhurst)
Recorded in April 2009 at Air Lyndhurst Studios, Hampstead, London, UK.




%d bloggers like this: