Sigmund Groven and Iver Kleive – harmOrgan (2010) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Sigmund Groven and Iver Kleive – harmOrgan (2010)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:37 minutes | PDF booklet | 4,22 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | PDF booklet | 1,44 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Label: 2L (Lindberg Lyd, Norway) # 2L-077

Harmonica and organ – an unusual duo. The world’s smallest and the world’s largest musical instrument; “David and Goliath” together in stunning baroque pieces and Norwegian folk music.

Sigmund Groven and Iver Kleive have collaborated for more than 30 years and have built a repertoire consisting mainly of baroque pieces and Norwegian music, most of which they have composed and arranged themselves. Even though they have chosen very different instruments, and are also quite different personalities in many ways, they have a fundamental musical rapport and understanding and also have many other things in common. They both originate from musical families; born and raised in Telemark, a region of Norway rich in folk-music, they have always had an open mind and taken keen interest in various contemporary and popular musical styles and idioms. They left Norway to study, and their mentors were the best possible role models: In Munich Iver came under the guidance of organist Franz Lehrndorfer and legendary choir­master, conductor, and organist Karl Richter, whereas Sigmund had the great fortune to study in England with his boyhood idol, the equally legendary Tommy Reilly, one of the great pioneers of serious harmonica-playing.

“In the right hands the harmonica can be an instrument of great beauty and sophistication. Sigmund Groven, like Tommy Reilly and Larry Adler before him, makes full use of the wide range and tonal expressions that the harmonica is capable of. His musicianship is superb, and he now unquestionably reigns supreme as one of the finest exponents of the harmonica in the world”. – Sir George Martin


01. Sigmund Groven: Gloria
02. Sigmund Groven: Aria
03. JS Bach: Flute Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, BWV 103: I. Allegro Moderato
04. JS Bach: Flute Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, BWV 103: II. Siciliano
05. JS Bach: Flute Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, BWV 103: III. Allegro
06. Sigmund Groven: I Himmelen
07. Iver Kleive: Melodier Fra Koralboka; Vektervers
08. Iver Kleive: Melodier Fra Koralboka; Mitt Hjerte Alltid Vanker
09. Iver Kleive: Melodier Fra Koralboka; Kom Regn Fra Det Høye
10. Iver Kleive: Melodier Fra Koralboka; Kristne, La Oss Søke Sammen
11. Iver Kleive: Melodier Fra Koralboka; Se, Vi Går Opp Til Jerusalem
12. Ludvig M. Linderman: Påskemorgen (arr. Iver Kleive)
13. Sigmund Groven: Lengt
14. Myllargutens Bruremarsj (arr. Sigmund Groven)
15. Iver Kleive: Toccata “Store Gud, Vi Lover Deg”
16. Iver Kleive: Suite Provençale; En Bagatell I Det Store Og Hele, Ikke Noe Å Bry Seg Om
17. Iver Kleive: Suite Provençale; Farvel Kjære Venn – Som Et Pust I Siv
18. Iver Kleive: Suite Provençale; Den Grønne Trøya
19. Iver Kleive: Suite Provençale; Côte D’Azur
20. GF Handel: Recorder Sonata In F Major, Hwv 369; Siciliana & Giga
21. Sigmund Groven: Undring
22. Sigmund Groven: In Memoriam
23. Henning Sommerro: Vårsøg

Sigmund Groven – harmonica
Iver Kleive – organ

Recorded in September 2010 at Uranienborg Church, Norway
DSD created from DXD (352.8kHz/24bit).



%d bloggers like this: