Sergei Edelmann – Chopin: Piano Works (2009) [Japan] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Sergei Edelmann – Chopin: Piano Works (2009) [Japan]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 75:19 minutes | Scans included | 1,96 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Scans included | 1,75 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Scans included | 1,42 GB
DSD Recording | Triton / Octavia Records Japan # OVCT-00058

Veteran Ukrainian-American Chopin specialist Sergei Edelmann has often performed, taught, and recorded in Japan. Here he offers a program centered on the four Chopin ballades, recorded in the city of Toyama and essentially an all-Japanese project except for the nationality of the pianist. Edelmann is technically well equipped, and he’s capable of power and brilliance when he decides to turn them on. What makes these ballad performances distinctive is that he delays the fireworks a bit. Edelmann takes the title “ballade” at its word, crafting discursive interpretations that do have a storytelling quality and seem to build slowly to their powerful finales. When those do come, the payoff is impressive. His dynamic range is vast, his charisma commanding.

In a review of some of Chopin’s piano music in 1841, Robert Schumann praised the “significant originality” of his Polish-French contemporary, evident in “an abundance of new forms which, in their tenderness and daring alike, deserve admiration” (Henry Pleasants’s translation). Some of these new forms were matched by new titles. For example, Chopin borrowed the word “ballade” from poetry and song for four independent pieces in 6/4 or 6/8 time (two groups of three beats to the bar), all with a strong feeling of narrative. Schumann reported a remark by Chopin that his ballades had been prompted by the poetry of his compatriot Mickiewicz. But this may be a matter of atmosphere rather than of story-lines: despite much speculation, links with specific poems have never been conclusively proved. What is certain is that each of the ballades has its own formal structure, and with it a distinct emotional trajectory; and in each case the structure provides a perfect platform for Chopin’s fertile invention of memorable melodies, allied to striking piano textures and figuration. These striking, memorable melodies are played with the utmost virtuosity and depth by the mature piano master Sergei Edelmann.


01. Ballade No.1 in G minor Op.23
02. Ballade No.2 in F major Op.38
03. Ballade No.3 in A-flat major Op.47
04. Ballade No.4 in F minor Op.52
05. Barcarolle in F-sharp major Op.60
06. Fantaisie in F minor Op.49
07. Polonaise No.7 in A-flat major Op.61 “Polonaise-fantaisie”

Sergei Edelmann – piano

Produced, Engineered, Balance Engineering & Edited by Tomoyoshi Ezaki.
Recorded on May 31 – June 3, 2009 at Northern Alpine Culture Center, Toyama, Japan.
Mixed & Mastered at EXTON Studio, Yokohama, Japan.




%d bloggers like this: