San Francisco Symphony & Chorus, Edo de Waart & Academy Of St. Martin In The Fields, Neville Marriner – Grieg: Peer Gynt Op. 23 & Holberg Suite, Op. 40 (1983/1985) [Japan 2019] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

San Francisco Symphony & Chorus, Edo de Waart & Academy Of St. Martin In The Fields, Neville Marriner – Grieg: Peer Gynt Op. 23 & Holberg Suite, Op. 40 (1983/1985) [Japan 2019]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 66:15 min | Basic Scans incl. | 2,7 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Basic Scans included | 1,35 GB
Japanese SACD Reissue 2019 | Decca / Esoteric Company, Japan # ESSD-90205

Edo de Waart conducts the San Francisco Symphony for performances of Grieg’s “Peer Gynt” Op. 23: Incidental music to Ibsen’s Play and Sir Neville Marriner conducts for Holberg Suite, Op.40. This reissue series of classical music masterpieces by Esoteric has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release.

The introduction of digital recording techniques coincided with the end of Edo de Waart’s lengthy tenure as music director of the San Francisco Symphony and produced a series of fine recordings for Philips, including some excellent Respighi tone poems and a spectacular Saint-Saëns Organ Symphony. This Peer Gynt was another worthy effort, eclipsed in the intervening years by Blomstedt’s equally fine take on the complete incidental music as well as the suites with this same orchestra for Decca. At Eloquence prices, it makes quite a bargain. De Waart reveals a keen sense of both the music’s drama (Peer Gynt’s Homecoming) and color (Dance of the Mountain King’s Daughter). He manages a moving Ase’s Death that doesn’t drag, and has the wonderful Elly Ameling handling the solo turns. His chorus doesn’t characterize the music the way Beecham’s does, but then again no one else’s ever has. The addition of Marriner’s excellent Holberg Suite completes a very attractive package, though the absence of texts, as always with this series, is annoying as well as ultimately self-defeating.


01. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Prelude to Act 1
02. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Prelude to Act 2 (Ingrid’s Abduction and Lament)
03. Peer Gynt, Op.23: In the Hall of the Mountain King
04. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Dance of the Mountain King’s Daughter
05. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Aase’s Death
06. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Prelude to Act 4 (Morning Mood)
07. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Arabian Dance
08. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Anitra’s Dance
09. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Solveig’s Song
10. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Prelude to Act 5 (Peer Gynt’s Homecoming)
11. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Song of the Church-goers
12. Peer Gynt, Op.23: Solveig’s Lullaby
13. Holberg Suite, Op.40: 1. Praludium (Allegro vivace)
14. Holberg Suite, Op.40: 2. Sarabande (Andante)
15. Holberg Suite, Op.40: 3. Gavotte (Allegretto) – Musette (Poco piu mosso) – Gavotte
16. Holberg Suite, Op.40: 4. Air (Andante religioso)
17. Holberg Suite, Op.40: 5. Rigaudon (Allegro con brio)

Peer Gynt:
Elly Ameling – soprano
San Francisco Symphony & Chorus
Conducted by Edo de Waart

Holberg Suite, Op.40:
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Conducted by Sir Neville Marriner

Peer Gynt, Op.23 – Recorded in October 1982 & June 1983, Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco.
Holberg Suite, Op.40 – Recorded in November 1984, St. John’s Smith Square, London, U.K.
Re-Mastering Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC Company)
DSD Mastering Engineer: Kazuie Sugimoto (Victor Creative Media Co., Ltd. Mastering Center)

Technical note:
The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC’s flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model Grandioso G1 and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.



%d bloggers like this: