Russian National Orchestra, Mikhail Pletnev – Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.3 (2012) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Russian National Orchestra, Mikhail Pletnev – Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.3 (2012)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & DST64 5.0 >1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Digital Booklet | 2.58 GB
FLAC Image+CUE 2.0 24bit/88.2 kHz | Digital Booklet | 839 MB

Nowadays, Tchaikovsky’s 1st 3 symphonies seldom appear on the concert programmes, whereas his symphonies 4 to 6 – in other words, the symphonies generally recognized as masterpieces – are regularly included. Thus the 3 early symphonies share a fate that none of them have necessarily earned. After all, each in its own individual way is a worthwhile symphony: the composer certainly did not consider them to be preliminary works, a type of precursor to the later symphonies. From 1866 to 1878, Tchaikovsky taught harmony at the Moscow Conservatoire & during this period, he composed – among other works – his 1st 3 symphonies, namely in 1866, 1872, & 1875. For Tchaikovsky, the journey leading to the symphony was not easy: on the contrary, he trod a painful path before tapping into this high-end genre. This is proven, on 1 hand, by the amount of time & energy he put into the creation of his symphonies, which was characterized by serious doubts about their quality; or, on the other hand, by the fundamental reworking of his 2nd symphony, despite the success of its première. However, Tchaikovsky had a much easier time with his 3rd Symphony in D.


Symphony No. 3 in D Major Op. 29 (1875)
1. I. Introduzione e Allegro – Moderato assai (Tempo di marcia funebre)-Allegro brillante 13.58
2. II. Alla tedesca – Allegro moderato e semplice 6.25
3. III. Andante – Andante elegiac 10.55
4. IV. Scherzo – Allegro vivo 5.45
5. V. Finale – Allegro con fuoco (tempo di Polacca)-Presto 8.55
6. Coronation March (1883) 5.46

Russian National Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
Alexei Bruni, concertmaster

Polyhymnia DSD recording

Produced by Job Maarse



%d bloggers like this: