Oscar’s Motet Choir – Cantate Domino (1976) [Reissue 2003] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Oscar’s Motet Choir – Cantate Domino (1976) [Reissue 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 45:18 minutes | PDF Booklet | 767 MB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | PDF Booklet | 1,1 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | PDF Booklet | 1,03 GB

Cantate Domino, recorded by legendary sound engineer Bertil Alving in 1976, is widely regarded as one of the greatest audiophile masterpieces ever recorded. Opening with Enrico Bossi’s “Cantate Domino” for choir, organ, trumpets and trombones, the choral album includes a number of Swedish folk songs as well as pieces by Handel, Otto Olsson, and others. The famous reference record is now made even better with this audiophile SACD release.

This collection of Christmas-related sacred music for chorus, brass and organ from Oscar’s Motet Choir has long been considered an audiophile reference, famous for its incredible sound quality. Recorded simply in a Stockholm church in 1976 to a Revox reel-to-reel machine using two Pearl microphones, the album showcases the performances of soprano Marianne Mellnäs and organist Alf Linder and includes works by Enrico Bossi, Handel, Otto Olsson, Adolphe Adam along with psalms and Swedish folk songs.


01. Bossi: Cantate Domino
02. Walther: Organ Concerto (after Gentili) in A major, LV 130 I. Allegro
03. Walther: Organ Concerto (after Gentili) in A major, LV 130 II. Adagio
04. Walther: Organ Concerto (after Gentili) in A major, LV 130 III. Allegro
05. Olsson: Advent
06. Handel: Judas Maccabaeus, HWV 63: See the conqu’ring hero comes! (Dotter Sion, frojda dig)
07. Vogler: Hosianna, Davids son (Hosanna, Son of David)
08. Frojda dig, du Kristi brud (O bride of Christ, Rejoice)
09. Lullaby (Korean Folk Song)
10. Il est ne le divin enfant (French Carol)
11. Adam: O Helga natt (Cantique de Noel, O Holy Night)
12. Den signade dag (O day full of grace)
13. Gruber: Stille Nacht (Silent Night)
14. Reger: Schlichte Weisen, Op. 76: No. 52. Mariae Wiegenlied (Mary’s Lullaby)
15. Olsson: 12 Organ Pieces on Chorale Themes, Op. 36: No. 2. Jul
16. Zither Carol (Chech Folk Song)
17. Irving Berlin: White Christmas

Oscar’s Motet Choir
Chorus Master: Torsten Nilsson
Marianne Mellnäs – soprano vocals
Alf Linder – organ

Recorded from January 23 to 25 and April 29, 1976 at Motettenchorus Oscar Church, Stockholm, Sweden.
Transferred from original analogue tapes. Mastered by Torbjörn Samuelsson.
Proprius # PRSACD 7762










%d bloggers like this: