Mariss Jansons, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra – Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition (2009) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Mariss Jansons, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra – Mussorgsky: Pictures At An Exhibition (2009)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 33:35 minutes | Scans included | 1,72 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Scans included | 1,39 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Scans included | 719 MB
DSD Recording | Featues Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | RCO Live # 09004

Recorded live at the legendary Concertgebouw in Amsterdam in 2008, Mariss Jansons and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra present Mussorgsky’s much beloved and much recorded Pictures at an Exhibition in the orchestrated version by Maurice Ravel. This performance underlines the orchestra’s magnificent form and wonderful range of sonic colours and imagery.

In this day and age, a compact disc with a playing time of 33 minutes is more than a tad short, but what is here is stunning: an account of Ravel’s orchestration of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition that reveals the grandeur of the music in a performance of tremendous vitality and a recording of stupendous immediacy. Mariss Jansons finds things in this well-known score that most conductors miss – details of articulation, phrasing and balance that often go unnoted – and brings out the work’s enormous variety of forms, moods, and colors. The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra of Amsterdam plays with its accustomed super virtuosity, reveling in overcoming the score’s prodigious challenges with effortless panache. RCO Live’s super audio recording captures everything in sound that puts the listener in the Concertgebouw about 10 rows back from the stage. But, really, only 33:02? Why not more Ravel or more Mussorgsky, a bit of Borodin or a slice of Stravinsky? What’s here is inestimable, but it leaves the listener eager for more.


– Orchestration Maurice Ravel 1922 –

01. Promenade
02. Gnomus
03. Promenade
04. Il vecchio castello
05. Promenade
06. Tuileries
07. Bydlo
08. Promenade
09. Ballet des poussins dans leurs coques
10. Samuel Goldenberg und Schmuyle
11. Limoges, le marché
12. Catacombae, sepulchrum Romanum
13. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
14. La cabane sur des pattes de poule
15. Le grande porte de Kiev
16. Applause

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mariss Jansons – conductor

Producer, recording engineer & editor: Everett Porter.
Recorded live at Concertgebouw Amsterdam on May on 22-23 May & August 29, 2008.
DSD Recording. Recording facility: Polyhymnia International / Eurosound Mobile.
Microphones: DPA4006 with Polyhymnia custom electronics. Monitored on B&W Nautilus speakers.




%d bloggers like this: