Julia Fischer – J.S. Bach: Sonatas And Partitas For Solo Violin BWV 1001-1006 (2005) MCH SACD ISO

Julia Fischer – J.S. Bach: Sonatas And Partitas For Solo Violin BWV 1001-1006 (2005)
Genre: Classical, Violin | SACD ISO: DST64 5.0; 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 7.38 GB
Label: Pentatone Classics | Release Year: 2005

No doubt many of you are wondering whether I should be recording Bach’s complete sonatas and partitas at the age of only 21. Perhaps I should have waited a bit longer? Well, patience has seldom been my strong point, and after all I have already waited a number of years for an opportunity to record these works. During the first six years of study with my teacher Ana Chumachenco, I studied the sonatas and partitas thoroughly, and first performed both cycles in their entirety in the Bach year 2000, during the course of two evenings at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival. Ever since that intensive “Bach month”, in which I concentrated purely on the music of this composer, I have felt the urgent need to hold on to the sonatas and partitas by means of a recording. This musical experience led me to overcome my many years of aversion to studio recordings. Thus, I decided at the time already to reserve my first solo CD for the music of Bach.
One reason for this was that I have played Bach’s music on my violin more or less on a daily basis since I was nine; and I had begun to explore the Wohltemperierte Klavier on the piano two years earlier. As far as I am concerned, his works represent the fountainhead of music and the basis for all musicians. My day has to begin with Bach, and I find it very difficult to concentrate on the music of another composer before having “cleansed myself”, as it were, with Bach. Furthermore, he is the composer who plays the most important role in my memories of childhood and development.
The recording at hand represents a segment of a musical journey which by no means has been concluded. My interpretation of this music is bound to change later on; nevertheless, I wanted to be able to hold on to my experience and understanding of these wonderful compositions to date.
Julia Fischer


Disc 1
Sonata No.1 in G minor, BWV 1001
1. Adagio
2. Fuga (Allegro)
3. Siciliana
4. Presto
Partita No.1 in B minor, BWV 1002
5. Allemanda
6. Double
7. Corrente
8. Double (Presto)
9. Sarabande
10. Double
11. Tempo di Borea
12. Double
Sonata No.2 in A minor, BWV 1003
13. Grave
14. Fuga
15. Andante
16. Allegro

Disc 2
Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004
1. Allemande
2. Corrente
3. Sarabanda
4. Giga
5. Ciaccona
Sonata No.3 in C, BWV 1005
6. Adagio
7. Fuga
8. Largo
9. Allegro assai
Partita No.3 in E, BWV 1006
10. Preludio
11. Loure
12. Gavotte en Rondeau
13. Menuets I – II
14. Bourrée
15. Gigue




%d bloggers like this: