Filippo Arlia, Cesare Chiacchiaretta – Astor Piazzolla: Duettango (2017) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Filippo Arlia, Cesare Chiacchiaretta – Astor Piazzolla: Duettango (2017)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:09 minutes | Basic Scans + PDF Booklet | 791 MB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Basic Scans + Digital Booklet | 1,94 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Basic Scans + Digital Booklet | 950 MB

The duo of Filippo Arlia and Cesare Chiacchiaretta, pays tribute to Argentinian composer, bandoneon player, and arranger Astor Piazzolla with these twelve tracks. For “Duettango” they are joined by Fernando Suarez Paz on the violin, and his daughter Cecilia on vocals. Piazzolla revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style termed “nuevo tango”, incorporating elements from jazz and classical music.

When Giulio Cesare asked me to write an introductory note for this album, I instantly thought of how Duettango was born. It came about by chance, out of a personal ambition in 2010 at the Nocera Terinese, between two piano lessons in the rooms of the Conservatory. My idea was to combine two instruments which at first sight have very little in common, such as the piano and the bandoneon. Up until Astor Piazzolla’s creation, these have always been elements of a sextet or a quartet, where the piano sadly plays a secondary part while the bandoneon constantly and exclusively converses with the violin. This recording wishes to prove that the piano and the bandoneon can interact splendidly, and if it is necessary they can have a dialogue with the violin or the voice without giving up their virtuosity and an important musical presence. I end this with two thoughts that will always follow me whenever I listen to this album: the first is an homage to Piazzolla, a composer to whom my career as a pianist and musician already owes a lot in many ways; the second is for Fernando Suarez Paz, because being able to play Escualo with the violinist to whom Astor dedicated these extraordinary pages was one of the most meaningful moments of my life. – Filippo Arlia


01. Poema Valseado (Pianoforte E Voce)
02. Primavera Portena (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
03. Milonga Del Angel (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
04. Milonga Del Anunciación (Pianoforte, Bandoneon, Violino E Voce)
05. Adios Nonino (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
06. Oblivion (Pianoforte, Bandoneon, Violino E Voce)
07. Escualo (Pianoforte, Bandoneon E Violino)
08. Tanguedia (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
09. La Muerte Del Angel (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
10. Michelangelo ’70 (Pianoforte, Bandoneon E Violino)
11. Violentango (Pianoforte E Bandoneon)
12. Los Arboles Y Las Chimeneas (Pianoforte E Voce)

Filippo Arlia – piano
Cesare Chiacchiaretta – bandoneon
Fernando Suárez Paz – violin
Cecilia Suárez Paz – vocals

Conceived, Produced, Engineered & Mastered by Giulio Cesare Ricci.
Recorded on July 10, 2015 at Teatro Comunale di Pianello Val Tidone, Italy.
DSD Recording. Recorded on the Pyramix Recorder using dCS A/D and D/A converters.
Audiophile Productions / Fonè # 167 SACD




%d bloggers like this: