Erich Wolfgang Korngold – Much Ado About Nothing, Op. 11; Sinfonietta, Op. 5 – Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, John Storgards (2012/2016) DSF DSD64

Erich Wolfgang Korngold – Much Ado About Nothing, Op. 11; Sinfonietta, Op. 5 – Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, John Storgards (2012/2016)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 01:27:12 minutes | 3,45 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Digital Booklet | © 2xHD

This release of Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Much Ado About Nothing and Sinfonietta follows Ondine’s release of the Symphony in F sharp and the Tänzchen im alten Stil (ODE 1182-2).

The complete incidental music from Much Ado About Nothing (Viel Lärm um Nichts) is a world première recording. It was premiered in 2012 under the direction of John Storgårds. Originally written for chamber orchestra, it is performed here by symphony orchestra.

The Sinfonietta was first performed by Felix Weingartner and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. Richly orchestrated melodies, dreamy music and an imposing finale characterize the work.
John Storgårds, one of Finland’s most exceptional artists, has built a worldwide reputation in recent years. Storgårds is Chief Conductor of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and was appointed Principal Guest Conductor of BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in 2012.

This album originally recorded in DXD, was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal.


Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
Much ado about Nothing, Op. 11
1. I. Ouverture 05:31
2. II. Don Juan 00:18
3. III. Mummenschanz (Hornpipe) 02:27
4. IV. Festmusik 04:43
5. V. Lied des Balthasar 03:58
6. VI. Gartenmusik 05:55
7. VII. Intermezzo 02:10
8. VIII. Holzapfel und Schlehwein (Marsch der Wache) 02:32
9. VIIIa. Verhaftung 00:25
10. IX. Madchen im Brautgemach 03:36
11. X. Kirchenszene 01:05
12. XI. Holzapfel und Schlehwein (Marsch der Wache) 01:29
13. XII. Trauermusik 04:43
14. XIII. Intermezzo 02:10
15. XIV. Schlusstanz 02:37
Sinfonietta, Op. 5
16. I. Fliessend, mit heiterem Schwunge 11:18
17. II. Scherzo: Molto agitato, rasch und feuerig 08:57
18. III. Molto andante (traumerisch) 07:43
19. IV. Finale: Patetico – Allegro giocoso 15:35

Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
John Storgårds, conductor

Recorded: Helsinki music Centre, 9–10.8.2011 (#17-19), 26-28.1.2012 (#1-15), 28.1.2012 (#16)
A 24-bit recording in DXD (Digital eXtreme Defnition)


%d bloggers like this: