Dr. Teleny’s & Ettore Stratta – Stolen Goods & Viva Vivaldi (1972 & 1974) [Reissue 2019] {MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC}

Dr Teleny’s Incredible Plugged In Orchestra/Ettore Stratta – Stolen Goods/Viva Vivaldi! (1968 & 1970) [Reissue 2019]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 66:20 minutes | Scans included | 3,12 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,56 GB
2 LP on 1 SACD | Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Vocalion # CDSML 8552

A pair of very unusual albums – back to back on a single CD! Stolen Goods is a totally cool, totally groovy album from the 70s – one that features large orchestral arrangements of themes from the classics – but all augmented with plenty of wild contemporary touches! There’s moogy electronics, funky drums, wordless vocals, and lots of other hip 70s elements – including the kind of horn section that would have made Mozart, Chopin, or Beethoven wince – had they lived long enough to hear the approach to their songs served up on this British album! From what we can tell, Dr Teleny is Zack Laurence – who’s billed as the musical director on the album – serving up transformed tunes with titles that include “Power Play”, “Wild Turkey”, “Rhapsody From Hunger”, “Superjoy”, “Johann Sebastian Rock”, and “The People Yes”. Next up is Viva Vivaldi, served up by Italian conductor Ettore Stratta – who you’ll know from both sound track and easy instrumental modes – getting a lot of hip help here from arranger Chico O’Farrill! The songs are all from Vivaldi – as you’d guess from the title – but Chico’s charts add in plenty of sweet 70s touches, including electric bass, keyboards, and other instrumentation that moves things way past the baroque generation – even making some tunes groove in a surprising way. There’s still enough strings in play to tie the songs to classical roots – and titles include “Gloria Allegro”, “Mandolin Concerto In C Adagio”, “Suite From Four Seasons”, “Flute Concerto In D”, “Concerto In E”, and “Concerto In G For Two Mandolins”.


01. The People, Yes (Composed By – Frédéric Chopin; Revolutionary Etude)
02. Ludwig’s Gig (Composed By – Ludwig van Beethoven; Pastoral Symphony: Hymn Of Thanksgiving)
03. Wild Turkey (Composed By – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Turkish Rondo)
04. Rhapsody From Hunger (Composed By – Franz Liszt; Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2)
05. Schubert And Stripes Forever (Composed By – Franz Schubert; Marche Militaire)
06. Superjoy (Composed By – Johann Sebastian Bach; Jesu, Joy Of Man’s Desiring)
07. Johann Sebastian Rock (Composed By – Johann Sebastian Bach; Sleepers Awake)
08. Wolfgang Wigs Out (Composed By – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Sonata In C: First Movement)
09. Power Play (Composed By – Frédéric Chopin; Polonaise Militaire)
10. King Of Kings (Composed By – Georg Friedrich Händel; Messiah: Hallelujah Chorus)
11. Suite From The Four Seasons: I. Spring
12. Suite From The Four Seasons: II. Summer
13. Suite From The Four Seasons: III. Autumn
14. Suite From The Four Seasons: IV. Winter
15. Flute Concerto In D, Op. 10 No. 3
16. Concerto In E (L’Amoroso): Andante Con Moto
17. Guitar Concerto In D: Adagio
18. Gloria: Allegro
19. Mandolin Concerto In C: Adagio
20. Concerto Grosso In D Minor: Adagio
21. Concerto In G For Two Mandolins: Adagio

Tracks “01-10” is The Outrageous Dr. Teleny’s Incredible Plugged-in Orchestra – “Stolen Goods: Gems Lifted From The Masters” (LP 1972)
Tracks “11-21” is Ettore Stratta & The Baroque Pops – “Viva Vivaldi!” (LP 1974)
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.





%d bloggers like this: