Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer – Antonin Dvorak – Symphonies Nos. 8 & 9 ‘From the New World’ (2010) DSF DSD64

Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ivan Fischer – Antonin Dvorak – Symphonies Nos. 8 & 9 ‘From the New World’ (2010)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz  | Time – 01:18:18 minutes | 3,09 GB | Genre: Classical
Source: ISO SACD | © Channel Classics Records B.V. | Booklet, Front Cover

This pair of symphonies was written solely to satisfy Dvořák’s own poetic muse. In the keys of G major and its relative minor, E minor, they can be regarded as representing two sides of the same coin. The Eighth, composed in Dvořák’s summer residence at Vysoká deep in the Bohemian countryside, is indisputably “From the Old World” and rooted in Central Europe — “a work singing of the joy of green pastures, of summer evenings, of the melancholy of blue forests, of the defiant merry-making of the Czech peasants”, to quote the conductor Václav Talich, while the Ninth, composed in the claustrophobic surroundings of New York and intended as a greeting “From the New World”, is steeped in the composer’s “unappeasable yearning for his native soil”

As orchestras and conductors have been demonstrating for more than a century, you don’t have to be Bohemian to play Dvorák. All you need is profound musicality, a deep love of life, and an overwhelming urge to communicate. These are all qualities that Ivan Fischer and the Budapest Festival Orchestra demonstrate in full in this 2000 Channel Classics recording of the composer’s Eighth and Ninth symphonies. In these performances, one hears not only edge-of-the-chair excitement from the Hungarian musicians, one hears joy, happiness, and good old-fashioned fun. Listen to the rollicking horn trills in the Eighth’s Finale, the thundering timpani in the Ninth’s Scherzo; the interplay between winds, strings, and brass in the coda of the Eighth’s Scherzo; the lush string tone in the Ninth’s Largo; the headlong rush of the Eighth’s opening Allegro con brio; or the awesome power of the Ninth’s closing Allegro con fuoco. Although there are dozens of great recordings of both these works, these performances deserve to be heard by anyone who loves life, love, and joy. While the digital sound is a bit thin, it is also very clear, very clean, and very, very colorful. –AllMusic Review by James Leonard


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Symphony no. 9 in E minor, op. 95 ‘From the New World’
1 Adagio – Allegro molto 11.25
2 Largo 11.21
3 Scherzo: Molto vivace 7.21
4 Allegro con fuoco 10.55

Symphony no. 8 in G major, op. 88
5 Allegro con brio 10.09
6 Adagio 10.31
7 Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace 5.42
8 Allegro ma non troppo 10.28

Budapest Festival Orchestra
Iván Fischer, conductor

Recorded: 29 February – 3 March 2000, Italian Institute, Budapest


%d bloggers like this: