Boston Symphony Orchestra, Charles Munch, Jascha Heifetz – Beethoven & Mendelsohn: Violin Concertos (2006) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Boston Symphony Orchestra, Charles Munch, Jascha Heifetz – Beethoven & Mendelsohn: Violin Concertos (2006)
SACD ISO (2.0/MCH): 2,30 GB | 24B/88,2kHz Stereo FLAC: 1,12, GB | Artwork | 3% Recovery Info
Label/Cat#: RCA Red Seal “Living Stereo” # 82876-61391-2 | Country/Year: US 2006, 1955 & 1959
Genre: Classical | Style: Viennese School

These reissues are undoubtedly amongst the most treasured recordings of these fine pieces. There must be 50 or more interpretations of the Beethoven currently available, but you must hear Heifetz. No schmaltz. He articulates Beethoven as Beethoven wrote the concerto. The emotion is there…in the music. No extra added flourishes are needed. In fact, they can easily be a negative, so well constructed is this work. The Mendelssohn is also spectacular. Listening to Heifetz makes one wish he were alive in his heyday. It makes you wonder what Paganini really sounded like! The tempi are fast, yet it doesn’t sound rushed at all. Heifetz articulates every note; his technique is incomparable.

As a child, I wore out the grooves on this recording.

The recording quality is remarkable. The Beethoven is in 2ch, even on SACD “multi”, because the original recording was stereo. But the Mendelssohn master is 3ch, and is thus presented. The center channel stabilizes the position of the violin. No “sweet spot” problems…it sounds good from any part of the couch! The clarity is surprisingly good considering a 50+ year old tape. Current recording engineers could learn a thing or two from these old gems. The SACD rendering truly gives you the feel of analog, the warmth of the violin, while adding dynamic range and soundstage. The CD layer is also quite good, just a little restricted…only in comparison to the SACD.

After this purchase, I am seriously thinking of buying all the rest of the “Living Stereo” series. And I hope that all those legendary performances get their tapes dusted off, and made into SACDs

I don’t care how many versions of these concerti you have…If you don’t have a Heifetz recording you are missing out, and this SACD is the one to have. Go buy it now.


1 Allegro, Ma Non Troppo 20:43
2 Larghetto 8:45
3 Rondo, Allegro 8:31
4 Allegro Molto Appassionato 11:01
5 Andante 7:01
6 Allegretto Non Troppo – Allegro Molto Vivace 5:59



Info + Art

%d bloggers like this: