Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno, Roman Kofman – Franz Liszt: Christus Oratorio (2006) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno, Roman Kofman – Franz Liszt: Christus Oratorio (2006)
3xSACD ISO (2.0/MCH): 8,68 GB | 3x24B/88,2kHz Stereo FLAC: 2,49 GB | Full Artwork | 3% Recovery Info
Label/Cat#: MDG “Gold” # 937 1366-6 | Country/Year: Germany 2006
Genre: Classical | Style: Romantic, Sacred, Oratorio

This brand new recording of Franz Liszt’s massive oratorio, ‘Christus’ is doubly welcome as it is a new version for some years now and it enshrines some great singing and orchestral players all under the knowing guidance of Roman Kofman.
The oratorio is split into three distinct parts or acts lasting about an hour each with the first one designated as a Christmas Oratorio. The orchestra plays a hugely important part here with an extensive introduction lasting almost a quarter of an hour after the soloists and choir get a look in. I had been familiar with Erato’s excellent recording under James Conlon but that is currently unavailable and dates back to 1982, almost a quarter of a century and I must say that I hugely enjoyed Kofman’s brisk and unalloyed style.

In the second part described as ‘Epiphany’, we have some lovely interpretations, especially the magnificent ‘Entry into Jerusalem’ which is fairly apocalyptic in its intensity. What is most characteristic about this oratorio is the way it is built into huge blocks that are quite symphonic in their treatment. The third part is called ‘Passion and Transfiguration’ and almost resembles Mahler in its glorious intensity especially in the final ‘Et Resurexit’

I already indicated the excellent qualities of the soloists especially Franziska Hirzel and Birgit Remmert who sing with that important ethereal intensity. Kofman conducts with the ideal tonic and lets the music move along quite magically. The SACD sound comes out trumps on my Sony SACD-11 player and I really have nothing but an unqualified recommendation for this beautiful set.


Disc 1:
1 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Andante sostenuto 5:25
2 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Allegretto moderato 8:53
3 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Pastorale und Verkundigung des Engels 8:35
4 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Stabat mater speciosa 14:38
5 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Hirtengesang an der Krippe 5:05
6 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Quasi Andante – Pastorale 9:20
7 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Die heiligen drei Konige. Marsch 6:34
8 Weihnachts-Oratorium – Adagio sostenuto 7:25

Disc 2:
1 Nach Epiphania – Die Seligpreisungen. Andante 12:09
2 Nach Epiphania – Pater noster. Andante pietoso     7:56
3 Nach Epiphania – Die Grundung der Kirche 5:45
4 Nach Epiphania – Das Wunder. Agitato 9:52
5 Nach Epiphania – Der Einzug in Jerusalem. Allegro moderato 15:17

Disc 3:
1 Passion und Auferstehung – Tristis est anima mea! 13:28
2 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Stabat mater dolorosa 6:14
3 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Quis est homo qui non fleret 4:17
4 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Eja Mater fons amoris 5:15
5 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Sancta Mater istud agas 4:12
6 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Juxta crucem tecum stare 6:54
7 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Fac me crue custoridri 3:56
8 Passion und Auferstehung – Stabat mater – Quando corpus morietur 3:02
9 Passion und Auferstehung – O Filii et Filiae 2:11
10 Passion und Auferstehung – Resurrexit 5:50

Franziska Hirzel
Birgit Remmert
Donald Kaasch
Ralf Lukas
Czech Philharmonic Choir
Beethoven Orchester Bonn
Roman Kofman (conductor)

Recording: March, 17-19, 21-23, 2005, Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche Bad Godesberg
Tonmeister: Werner Dabringhaus



%d bloggers like this: