Annar Folleso, Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud – Ole Bull: Violin Concertos (2010) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Annar Folleso, Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Ole Kristian Ruud – Ole Bull: Violin Concertos (2010)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 69:21 minutes | Scans & PDF booklet included | 3,65 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Scans & PDF booklet included | 1,22 GB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound / Lindberg Lyd # 2L-067-SACD

Ole Bull was an adventurer, violin virtuoso, composer and international star who brought the name of Norway to worldwide attention. Within music and drama he was a pioneer in the development of a national identity, and on the concert stage his fabulous playing skills and intense charisma early won him the sobriquet “the Scandinavian Paganini”. In this recording some of Ole Bull’s best known compositions appear alongside works which have only recently been rediscovered. In these compositions we are given some idea of how and why he enthralled his audiences in the nineteenth century with his incredible technique and intense charisma.

Some of his most attractive tunes, as well as the rural potpourri Et Sæterbesøg have remained part of Norway’s cultural heritage; on this recording they can be heard alongside his two virtuosic violin concertos and the fiery Spanish fantasia La Verbena de San Juan. The concertos and the fantasia were rediscovered only a few years ago, and this is the first recording ever made of these attractive works. The A major Concerto was written in Italy in 1834 and boasts everything one could ever dream of when it comes to attractive tunes and giddy virtuosity. No. 2, Concerto Fantastico, lives indisputably up to its name and confirms what Franz Liszt wrote in 1840: “He is a sort of savage’s genius, possessing an abundance of original, enchanting ideas. In brief, he has moved me; it is a long time since that has happened to me”.


01. Sæterjentens Søndag (The Herdgirl’s Sunday)
02. Concerto in A major: Andante maestoso / Allegro maestoso
03. Concerto in A major: Adagio sentimentale (Adagio sostenuto)
04. Concerto in A major: Rondo pastorale (Moderato)
05. Concerto Fantastico: Allegro Affetuoso (La Notte)
06. Concerto Fantastico: Adagio Sostenuto (L’Aurora)
07. Concerto Fantastico: Rondo Marcato (A Giorno)
08. I Ensomme Stunde (La Melancolie)
09. La Verbena de San Juan
10. Et Sæterbesøg (A Mountain Vision)

Annar Follesø – violin
Norwegian Radio Orchestra – Conducted by Ole Kristian Ruud

Recorded in Digital eXtreme Defnition (24/352) in June 2009 at Jar Church by Lindberg Lyd AS.
Recording Engineer: Hans Peter L’Orange. Recording Producer: Wolfgang Plagge.
Surround Sound Design and Balance Engineer: Morten Lindberg.
Editing Jørn Simenstad. Mix and Mastering Morten Lindberg.



%d bloggers like this: