Rosa Passos and Ron Carter – Entre Amigos (2003) [Reissue 2005] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Rosa Passos and Ron Carter – Entre Amigos (2003) [Reissue 2005]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:51 minutes | Scans included | 2,24 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 947 MB
Features 2.0 Stereo & 5.1 multichannel Surround sound

Rosa Passos made her recording debut as a leader in 1979, but this 2003 Chesky release may be her first to be released outside of South America. The Brazilian singer is paired with veteran bassist Ron Carter, who provides a solid melodic foundation for her throughout the date; the delightful Brazilian guitarist Lula Galvao; percussionist Paulo Braga, and, on a few tracks, veteran session musician Billy Drewes on tenor sax or clarinet. While the focus is clearly on the soft, effective vocals of Passos, who is extremely effective in her interpretations of bossa nova classics such as “Insensatez,” “Desafinado,” “Caminhos Cruzados,” and “O Grande Amor,” Carter’s solos are also subtly swinging. Not satisfied with sticking exclusively to a well known repertoire, Passos is a superb interpreter of less familiar songs like Jobim’s “Por Causa de Voce” (a duet with Carter, whose playing is phenomenal on this track) and the lively “Feitio de Oracao.” The warm, very intimate sound throughout this studio date makes this a particularly memorable bossa nova release.


01. Bahia Com H
02. Insensatez
03. Desafinado
04. Sorriu Para Mim
05. A Primeira Vez
06. Garota de Ipanema
07. Por Causa de Voce
08. Caminhos Cruzados
09. Feitio de Oracao
10. Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar
11. O Grande Amor



%d bloggers like this: