Tommy Smith – Blue Smith (1999) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Tommy Smith – Blue Smith (1999)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 61:51 minutes | Scans included | 2,51 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,22 GB

Scottish jazz saxophonist emerged in the early 1980s, moved on to create challenging works with major players.

Guitarist John Scofield has never had a problem interacting with saxophonists in a piano-less environment; anyone who admires the strong rapport that him and saxman Joe Lovano have enjoyed when there is no pianist on board can attest to that. So it isn’t surprising that Scofield and Scottish saxophonist Tommy Smith prove to be a strong combination on 1999’s Blue Smith, which finds the two forming a piano-less quartet with upright bassist James Genus and drummer Clarence Penn. The only familiar song on this post-bop is “Amazing Grace”; all of the other selections were written by Smith, who keep things unpredictable and provides a variety of blues-influenced material for the quartet to work with. Scofield excels on everything that Smith throws his way, and that includes the funky “Rain Dance” and the angular “Dr. Sco,” as well as the Native American-influenced “Rain Dance” and the John Coltrane-minded “Touch Your Toes.” As the title indicates, Blue Smith is a Album with a lot of blues feeling; it isn’t an album in which Smith (who is heard on both tenor and soprano) plays 12-bar blues numbers exclusively, but it is an album in which Smith and Scofield never forget the importance of blues feeling. Blue Smith is among his strongest albums.


01. El Niсo
02. Hubba Hubba
03. Rain Dance
04. Dr Sco
05. Touch Your Toes
06. Amazing Grace
07. Blacken’ Blue
08. The Blues Blew Blue
09. Eany Meany Miny Mo
10. Miracle
11. Dr Smith

Tommy Smith – tenor & soprano saxophone
James Genus – acoustic bass
John Scofield – guitar
Clarence Penn – drums



%d bloggers like this: