Sonny Boy Williamson – The Sky Is Crying (2017) DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Sonny Boy Williamson – The Sky Is Crying (2017)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 37:49 minutes | 2,98 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96kHz | Time – 37:49 minutes | 767 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | © 2xHD – Storyville Records

When ‘Willie’ Rice Miller, aka Sonny Boy Williamson, made these intimate, casual recordings in 1963, he was already (probably) 66 years old. Most of his long career was over; only two years later he would die in his little apartment in Helena, Arkansas. He was recognized as a giant throughout the blues world as a harmonica player, vocalist, songwriter, prolific recording artist, live performer and wildly colorful personality. Starting in 1951 and continuing into the ‘60s, Sonny Boy made some of the most influential blues records of all time.

Every blues harmonica player since Sonny Boy has struggled to master his style. You can hear his licks played by James Cotton (whom Sonny Boy raised and tutored), Junior Wells, Howling Wolf, Junior Parker and literally hundreds of other harp players. But one listen to Sonny Boy and you’ll know no one else was quite the same. It’s hard to think of a single song he recorded not worth listening to again and again. In this outstanding recording quality you can hear the exchange from Lung to Breath to Harmonica, plus Sonny Boy’s distinctive gravelly voice.

“Miller’s music was as entertaining and fun as any that emanated from Chicago during the city’s blues heyday. His canon is among the most consistently high-quality of any bluesman’s, and this recording is an important addition to his legacy. It’s an exquisitely crafted, often hilarious peek into a side he seldom revealed. And between the astonishing demonstrations of harmonica virtuosity and the mind-boggling lyrical convolutions, the genius of Rice Miller soars at unfettered full throttle”. – David Whitens, Chicago Reader


01 – The Sky Is Crying
02 – Don’t Let Your Right Hand
03 – Coming Home To You Baby
04 – The Story Of Sonny Boy Williamson
05 – Gettin’ Together
06 – Little Girl
07 – I Can’t Understand
08 – Slowly Walk Close To Me
09 – I Wonder Do I Have a Friend

Sonny Boy Williamson – vocals, harmonica
Matt Murphy – guitar
Memphis Slim – piano
Billie Stepney – drums

Produced by Karl Emil Knudsen. Engineered by Ivar Rosenberg.
Recorded on November 1, 1963 at Ivar Rosenberg Studios, Copenhagen, Denmark.
2xHD mastering by René Laflamme. 2xHD Executive Producer: André Perry.



%d bloggers like this: