Junior Wells’ Chicago Blues Band – Hoodoo Man Blues (2009) [Analogue Productions] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Junior Wells’ Chicago Blues Band – Hoodoo Man Blues (2009) [Analogue Productions]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 39:57 minutes | Scans Included | 1,31 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans Included | 879 MB

Hoodoo Man Blues is not only Junior Wells’ initial LP appearance, it is damn near the first LP by a Chicago Blues Band. Chess and a few other labels had reissued 45’s by Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson, Howling Wolf, Jimmy Reed, Elmore James, etc., but virtually no one had tried to capture the Chicago Blues sound free of the limitations of juke-box/airplay promotion.

Hoodoo Man Blues is one of the truly classic blues albums of the 1960s, and one of the first to fully document, in the superior acoustics of a recording studio, the smoky ambience of a night at a West Side nightspot. Junior Wells just set up with his usual cohorts – guitarist Buddy Guy, bassist Jack Myers, and drummer Billy Warren – and proceeded to blow up a storm, bringing an immediacy to “Snatch It Back and Hold It,” “You Don’t Love Me, Baby,” “Chitlins con Carne,” and the rest of the tracks that is absolutely mesmerizing. Widely regarded as one of Wells’ finest achievements, it also became Delmark’s best-selling release of all time. Producer Bob Koester vividly captures the type of grit that Wells brought to the stage. When Wells and his colleagues dig into “Good Morning, Schoolgirl,” “Yonder Wall,” or “We’re Ready,” they sound raw, gutsy, and uninhibited. And while Guy leaves the singing to Wells, he really shines on guitar. Guy, it should be noted, was listed as “Friendly Chap” on Delmark’s original LP version of Hoodoo Man Blues; Delmark thought Guy was under contract to Chess, so they gave him a pseudonym. But by the early ’70s, Guy’s real name was being listed on pressings. This is essential listening for lovers of electric Chicago blues.


01. Snatch It Back And Hold It
02. Ships On The Ocean
03. Good Morning Schoolgirl
04. Hound Dog
05. In The Wee Hours
06. Hey Lawdy Mama
07. Hoodoo Man Blues
08. Early In The Morning
09. We’re Ready
10. You Don’t Love Me Baby
11. Chitlin Con Carne
12. Yonder Wall

Mastered fo SACD by Kevin Gray at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, California.
Authored by Gus Skinas on the SONOMA system at the Super Audio Center, Colorado.







%d bloggers like this: