Jimmie Lee Robinson – Remember Me (1998/2013) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Jimmie Lee Robinson – Remember Me (1998/2013)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,8 MHz | Time – 52:07 minutes | 2,05 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 52:07 minutes | 0,98 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Digital booklet
Genre: Blues | © APO Records

Robinson sings in the powerful and sometimes piercing voice that inspired the Lonesome Lee sobriquet when he began recording for Bandera Records in the 1950s. Boot-stomping, spur-jangling highlights include a rousing performance of “Wait For Me”, Jimmy Reed-inspired “Boss Man” and a spirited rendition of “Wagon Wheels”. Remember Me, Robinson’s first effort for the APO label and the first album recorded at Blue Heaven Studios, is an adventure deep into the blues of Mr. Robinson’s Maxwell Street neighborhood, a neighborhood that has included residencies with musicians such as Little Walter, Howlin Wolf, Freddie King, Elmore James, Luther Tucker, Eddie Taylor, Magic Sam, Jimmy Reed, Shakey Jake, St. Louis Jimmy, Eddy Clearwater, Sunnyland Slim and more.

Jimmie Lee Robinson doesn’t dance for the approval of others nor does he thin his music to seduce a wider audience. The self-proclaimed Lonely Traveller’s work is an artistic achievement that illustrates why enduring reputations are earned slowly, over time, not swiftly via shrewdly orchestrated media blitzes. His music, honest and unspoiled, comes as a welcome and refreshing alternative in an age of crowd-mesmerizing pyrotechnics, outlandish tempos, and incendiary solos. On Remember Me, Robinson accompanies himself on acoustic guitar to create The Lonely Traveller’s distinctive brand of blues, which he says represents a lifetime of work, the trials and tribulations of growing up on and experiencing Maxwell Street. If you listen closely, you’ll also hear Jimmy D. Lane (son of the late blues legend Jimmy Rogers) accompanying on one tune.


01 – My Name Is Jimmie Lee
02 – Boss Man
03 – Wagon Wheels
04 – See See Baby
05 – Wait For Me
06 – Keys To The Highway
07 – Rosa Lee
08 – The Boll Weevil
09 – Angry Lover
10 – Three O’Clock In The Morning
11 – I Will Be Your Dog
12 – Rollin’ And Tumblin’
13 – Remember Me

Produced by Chad Kassem. Co-Produced by Jimmy D. Lane.
Recorded by David Baker on February 14, 1998 at Blue Heaven Studios, Salina, KS.
This a pure analog recording. The tracks were recorded live direct to two tracks.
Mastered by Kevin Gray at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, CA.







%d bloggers like this: