Jimmie Lee Robinson – All My Life (2001) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Jimmie Lee Robinson – All My Life (2001)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,8 MHz | Time – 51:30 minutes | 2,03 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 51:30 minutes | 998 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Digital booklet
Genre: Blues | © APO Records

Jimmie Lee Robinson was the consummate Chicago bluesman. In fact, he was more Chicago than most of his more famous peers. Unlike the vast majority of Chicago blues greats who were from the South (overwhelmingly from Mississippi) and were part of the Great Migration north to make their musical mark, Jimmie Lee was born in the Windy City, just blocks from the bustling Maxwell Street Market which would help shape not only his own musical style but the entire genre of postwar Chicago blues as well. With “All My Life”, his second APO Records release, Jimmie Lee is aiming for goose bumps and tears. And if you’ve got appreciation for acoustic, front porch blues, you’ll have a tough time escaping his spell.

No doubt Jimmie Lee Robinson offers a delightful taste of traditional blues. His work through the years with such stalwarts as Little Walter, Howlin’ Wolf, Freddie King, Elmore James and Jimmy Reed have made their impressions on the man called The Lonely Traveler just as he has been credited with inspiring them. On All My Life you’ll hear standby classics like a haunting, slowed-down version of Muddy Waters’ Forty Days and Forty Nights with eerie harmonica accompaniment by Madison Slim. And Jimmie Lee even covers a non-blues favorite with What a Wonderful World. His live version of that song at a 1999 concert in Blue Heaven Studios – the converted church that is home to APO Records – brought tears to scores of the 400 in attendance. But All My Life is also packed with Jimmie Lee originals like the title track, which was once covered by John Mayall, where Jimmie Lee pleads with the woman of his dreams to return all the respect and love he’s paid to her. That track is also a perfect showcase for the classic Jimmie Lee growling vocals and the spurs jangling from his boots as the only percussion. Unlike his first APO release, Remember Me, an almost entirely-solo effort, Jimmie Lee is joined on most of the All My Life tracks by APO artist and noted-guitarist Jimmy D. Lane and journeyman harp player Madison Slim, whose knack for acoustic blues is highlighted on this release.


01 – 40 Days And 40 Nights
02 – I’ll Be Around
03 – Love My Baby
04 – Driftin’ Blues
05 – The Girl I Love
06 – All My Life
07 – I’m Ready
08 – Too Late
09 – The Sun Is Shining
10 – Easy Baby
11 – If I Get Lucky
12 – Ludella
13 – What A Wonderful World

Jimmie Lee Robinson – vocals, guitar, spurs
Jimmy D. Lane – guitar
Madison Slim – harmonica

This is a pure analog recording.
Produced by Chad Kassem. Co-Produced by Jimmy D. Lane.
Recorded ive direct to two-track by Katsuhiko Naito on February 21-22, 1999 at Blue Heaven Studios, Salina, KS.







%d bloggers like this: