Doug MacLeod – Unmarked Road (1997) [Reissue 2000] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Doug MacLeod – Unmarked Road (1997) [Reissue 2000]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 54:31 minutes | Scans included | 2,19 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 996  GB

Doug MacLeod’s dark singing and sparse guitar playing are a throwback to the country-blues artists of the 1930s, although his lyrics have more modern sensibilities. Much of this superior album is haunting and mildly disturbing, giving one the feeling that there is a great deal beneath the surface. It is the type of blues/folk recording worth experiencing several times, in contrast to those of recent times that express more obvious sentiments. Bassist Jeff Turmes is on just seven of the dozen songs (five of which also include drummer Stefev Mugalian); three of the remaining tunes are duets by MacLeod with percussionist Oliver Brown, and the two others are unaccompanied solo performances. Although the leader’s guitar playing is impressive, it is his distinctive and very sincere voice on his dozen originals that sticks in one’s mind.


01. Unmarked Road
02. Necessary Clothes
03. Little Songbird
04. Home Cookin’
05. Talking With Strangers
06. Roll Like A River
07. Lost Like The Wind At Night
08. I Want You
09. Children Like You
10. Night Run To Freedom
11. Cross-eyed In The Mind
12. Old Country Road



%d bloggers like this: