Deitra Farr – Let It Go! (2005) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Deitra Farr – Let It Go! (2005)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 50:25 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 3,6 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 59:51 min | Front/Rear Covers+ | 1,3 GB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound / JSP Records ‎# JSP5105 | Genre: Blues

On this accessible set of romance-themed songs, veteran Chicago blues vocalist Deitra Farr offers dynamic interpretations that frequently dabble in pop and soul. Standout tracks include the melancholy, gospel-tinged tune “Signs, Signals, and Warnings” and the emotive ballad “My Love for You”, both of which highlight Farr’s deep, expressive voice.

The same qualities you could use to describe the persona that blues singer Deitra Farr inhabits in song—independence, self-confidence, a refusal to play on anyone else’s terms—also inform the way she deals with the music business. That might explain why, despite her international reputation and undiminished talents, she hasn’t released a solo album since 2005’s Let It Go! (JSP). Farr melds traditional postwar Chicago blues and fervent deep soul with modern-sounding emotional directness and a panache that few of her contemporaries can match. Let It Go! makes her case: she coaxes fatback funk out of players who usually prefer rootsier fare, like guitarist Billy Flynn, and she runs the emotional gamut from haunted urgency (“In a Dark Place”) to swing-inflected joy (“When They Really Love You”). Even on her most anthemic barn burners, which she delivers with full-hearted ebullience, Farr steers clear of “blooze-mama” posturing. She’s at her best live, so this all-too-rare hometown show is a must-see.


Tracklist – Stereo Program:
01. Let It Go!
02. Signs, Signals And Warnings
03. It Really Doesn’t Matter
04. I’m Through With It
05. When They Really Love You
06. In A Dark Place
07. Don’t Hold Me So Tight
08. A Week From Yesterday
09. My Love For You
10. Call Your Wife
11. Thank You For Leaving Me
12. My Turn, My Time

Tracklist – Multichannel Program:
01. I’m Through With It
02. My Love For You
03. Call Your Wife
04. My Turn, My Time
05. Let It Go!
06. Signs, Signals And Warnings
07. Thank You For Leaving Me
08. A Week From Yesterday
09. When They Really Love You
10. Don’t Hold Me So Tight

Deitra Farr – vocals, background vocals
Billy Flynn – guitar
Matthew Skoller – harmonica
Rodney “Hot Rod” Brown – saxophone
Peter Bartels – trumpet
Johnny “Showtime” Janowiak – trombone
Roosevelt Purifoy – keyboards
Willie “Vamp” Samuels Jr. – bass, background vocals
James Knowles – drums
Ardella Williams – background vocals

Produced by Deitra Farr.
Recorded by Jerry Soto at Soto Sound, Chicago, IL.



%d bloggers like this: