The Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Penguin Cafe Orchestra (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2015] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Penguin Cafe Orchestra (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:34 minutes | Scans included | 1,96 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 1,92 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 971 MB
or DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | 1.94 GB

The sophomore album from Simon Jeffes’ homegrown band took over three years to record, but the signs are here that it was a labor of love. While drawing compositional and textural inspiration from both English folk and chamber music, it manages to sound like neither and a wondrous hybrid of both. “Walk Don’t Run,” a cover of the Ventures’ classic, turns from a surf tune into a merry jig of sorts, with the violins and cellos playing the melody backed by drums, bongos, and shakers. “Telephone and Rubber Band” turns a busy signal into something full of beauty and joy. Unfailingly romantic, sunny music and an album that set the tone of all further PCO releases.


01. Air A Danser
02. Yodel 1
03. Telephone And Rubber Band
04. Cutting Branches For A Temporary Shelter
05. Pythagoras’s Trousers
06. Numbers 1-4
07. Yodel 2
08. Salty Bean Fumble
09. Paul’s Dance
10. The Ecstasy Of Dancing Fleas
11. Walk Don’t Run
12. Flux
13. Simon’s Dream
14. Harmonic Necklace
15. Steady State

DSD flat transferred from U.K. original analogue master tapes.
Edited in DSD by Manabu Matsumura at Universal Music Studios, Tokyo, in 2015.




%d bloggers like this: