Matthew Sweet – 100% Fun (1995) [Reissue 2018] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Matthew Sweet – 100% Fun (1995) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 64:15 minutes | Scans included | 2,58 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 2,53 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,47 GB

Sidney Matthew Sweet is an American rock singer-songwriter and musician. He was part of the burgeoning music scene in Athens, Georgia, during the 1980s before gaining commercial success in the 1990s. “100% Fun” is his fifth album. The album was met with moderate commercial success and favorable reviews. The single “Sick of Myself” reached #2 on the Billboard Modern Rock chart and appeared on the top 100 pop song charts of the day. Critic David Browne of Entertainment Weekly, who included 100% Fun on his year’s-best list, wrote in his review that it “makes you feel as if a good pop hook can solve any crisis”. The title of the album was derived from Kurt Cobain’s 1994 suicide note.

Matthew Sweet’s 100% Fun of guitar-dominated, hook-laden power pop runs through at a classic speed, piling up songs that lovingly conform to the three-minute pop tradition. Richard Lloyd’s gnarled guitars save Sweet’s melodies and harmonies from being saccharine or sappy. Behind Sweet’s bright hooks lies something darker – the self-loathing of “Sick of Myself” and the mental manipulation of “We’re the Same” aren’t evident from the sound of the record, which obliterates any hidden meanings with its chiming guitars and driving rhythms. It might not have the consistent barrage of great songs like Girlfriend, yet it tames the wilder impulses of Altered Beast into an album that rocks its worries away without ever getting rid of them.


01. Sick of Myself
02. Not When I Need It
03. We’re the Same
04. Giving It Back
05. Everything Changes
06. Lost My Mind
07. Come to Love
08. Walk Out
09. Almost Forgot
10. Super Baby
11. Get Older
12. Smog Moon
13. Sense of Adventure [Bonus Track]
14. Slowly [Bonus Track]
15. Breaks My Heart [Bonus Track]
16. Walk Out (Alternate Mix) [Bonus Track]
17. Never Said Goodbye [Bonus Track]
18. You [Bonus Track]
19. Our Song [Bonus Track]

Source: Intervention Records # IR-SCD 11
Reissue Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound.




%d bloggers like this: