Nancy Wilson, Cannonball Adderley – Nancy Wilson, Cannonball Adderley (1962/2018) DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Nancy Wilson, Cannonball Adderley – Nancy Wilson, Cannonball Adderley (1962/2018)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 44:25 minutes | 3,5 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:25 minutes | 987 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | Source: HDTT | Genre: Jazz

Nancy Wilson/Cannonball Adderley is a studio album by Nancy Wilson and Cannonball Adderley originally issued in February 1962 by Capitol Records. The Penguin Guide to Jazz states “The odd session out is the date with Nancy Wilson for Capitol, primarily designed as a showcase for the young singer but with five band-only tracks as well. Wilson had a self-conscious phrasing and melodramatic lighting-up of key lines – but there is a version of “A Sleeping Bee” here which is one of the most charming of all her recordings, and Cannon and the others play personably throughout”. Wilson considered her vocals on the album “as a sort of easy-going third horn”.

An excellent collaboration of Nancy Wilson’s voice with Cannonball Adderley’s alto sax from the early ’60s. While this 1961 recording was the first time Wilson was with Adderley in the studio, it was not the first time they had worked together. After singing with Rusty Bryant’s band, Wilson had worked with Adderley in Columbus, Ohio. (It was there that Adderley encouraged her to go to N.Y.C. to do some recording, eventually leading to this session.) Not entirely a vocal album, five of the 12 cuts are instrumentals. A highlight is the gentle cornet playing of Nat Adderley behind Wilson, especially on “Save Your Love for Me” and “The Old Country.” Cannonball Adderley’s swinging, boppish sax is heard to excellent effect throughout. Joe Zawinul’s work behind Wilson on “The Masquerade Is Over” demonstrates that he is a talented, sensitive accompanist. On the instrumental side, “Teaneck” and “One Man’s Dream” are especially good group blowing sessions. On the other end of the spectrum, Adderley’s alto offers a lovely slow tempo treatment of the Vernon Duke-Ira Gershwin masterpiece “I Can’t Get Started.” To keep the listeners on their musical toes, the first couple of bars of “Save Your Love for Me” are quotes from “So What” from the Miles Davis Sextet’s seminal Kind of Blue session. Given the play list and the outstanding artists performing it, why any serious jazz collection would be without this classic album is difficult to comprehend.


01 – Save Your Love For Me
02 – Teaneck
03 – Never Will I Marry
04 – I Can’t Get Started
05 – The Old Country
06 – One Man’s Dream
07 – Happy Talk
08 – Never Say Yes
09 – The Masquerade Is Over
10 – Unit 7
11 – A Sleepin’ Bee
12 – Little Unhappy Boy [Bonus Track]

Nancy Wilson – vocals on “1,3,5,7,9,11”
Julian “Cannonball” Adderley – alto saxophone
Nat Adderley – cornet
Joe Zawinul – piano
Sam Jones – double bass
Louis Hayes – drums

Recorded on June 27, 29 & August 23–24, 1961.
Transferred by HDTT from a 15ips 2-track tape.



%d bloggers like this: