McCoy Tyner – McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster (2000) SACD ISO

McCoy Tyner – McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster (2000)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Time – 01:05:36 minutes | 2,65 GB | Genre: Jazz | ©  Telarc

One of the musical highlights of the new millennium is already here: McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster, the follow-up to the legendary pianist’s critically-acclaimed Telarc debut, McCoy Tyner and the Latin All-Stars. On this new release, McCoy Tyner explores the art of the trio, with a dynamic set of 11 tracks that features new tunes from Tyner and Clarke.

McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster is a clear indication that Tyner’s interests lie firmly in the future, and in his own compositions. In addition to two takes of “I Want to Tell You ‘Bout That” (the first with Clarke on electric bass, the next on acoustic), other Tyner compositions include “Trane-like,” “Once Upon A Time,” “Goin’ ‘Way Blues,” “Carriba” and “Memories.” Tyner’s unique and blazing interpretations of standards are apparent in his renditions of “Never Let Me Go” and “Will You Still Be Mine.” Another highlight is Clarke’s own “In the Tradition Of.”

McCoy Tyner is assured of a major position in any jazz history of the 20th century—a versatile composer, arranger and leader whose distinctive sound looms over entire generations. He was born in Philadelphia in 1938 when Bud Powell, Benny Golson (and of course, John Coltrane) and many others were in the neighborhood. And Tyner is the only jazz giant to have honed his craft in, of all places, his mother’s beauty parlor in West Philadelphia—jamming among the hair dryers and curling irons.
Stanley Clarke (born in 1951) is also from Philly, and on this project he plays mostly acoustic bass. Well known for his work with Return to Forever and as a trailblazing solo artist, Clarke continues to revolutionize his instrument. A first-generation fusion player who is constantly shifting directions, this project offers a rare opportunity to hear his more straight-ahead playing.
McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster is a brilliant second installment of Tyner’s work on Telarc. Both discs make it clear that the undeniable talents of McCoy Tyner continue growing greater with time.

No longer trying to push the envelope of innovation, Tyner settles down with a pair of experts and carves out a very nice, fairly orthodox piano trio album. This is Tyner reaffirming most of his strengths: the massive tone quality, the two-handed control over the entire keyboard, and the generally uplifting attitude conveyed through the shape of his melodic invention. He does so in a program of six originals, three standards, and one tune by Stanley Clarke, mixing modal tunes, blues, funk, ballads, and a mildly Caribbean ringer. Only once does he evoke memories of the classic John Coltrane Quartet — not in “Trane-Like” but in “The Night Has a Thousand Eyes.” Clarke takes a break from the film studios and turns in one of his rare sessions on acoustic double bass, producing solid, faultless, relatively conventional support. He doesn’t leave the electric bass entirely at home, however; his funky side bumps through one of the two versions of “I Want to Tell You ‘Bout That,” and he exercises low-key, electric subtleties on his “In the Tradition Of” and “Caribe.” Foster throws himself skillfully into every situation; he is at ease in all idioms. The sound is excellent, with each instrument, even Tyner’s formidable piano, in perfect balance. –Richard S. Ginell


1 Trane-like 9:10
2 Once Upon A Time 5:28
3 Never Let Me Go 4:16
4 I Want To Tell You ‘Bout That (Electric Bass Version) 5:16
5 Will You Still Be Mine 6:44
6 Goin’ Way Blues 6:28
7 In The Tradition Of 7:36
8 The Night Has A Thousand Eyes 4:49
9 Carriba 5:38
10 Memories 3:31
Bonus Track
11 I Want To Tell You ‘Bout That (Acoustic Bass Version/Alternate Take) 5:57

McCoy Tyner, piano
Stanley Clarke, bass, electric bass
Al Foster, drums

Recorded: (DSD recording) Clinton Recording Studio “B”, New York City, April 27-28, 1999


%d bloggers like this: