Diana Panton – Christmas Kiss (2012/2018) [DSF DSD128/5,6MHz + Hi-Res FLAC]

Diana Panton – Christmas Kiss (2012/2018) 
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 62:17 minutes | 4,92 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 62:17 minutes | 1,14 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | Genre: Vocal Jazz | | © 2xHD

This JUNO-nominated album is a delightful mixture of carefully selected chestnuts, obscure gems and new originals. It was released as part of the Sound of Jazz Concert Series and broadcast live by JAZZ.FM 91. “Christmas Kiss” has been recommended on numerous “Best of” Christmas lists, including those of Frank-John Hadley’s 2017 Yuletide Roundup (DownBeat Magazine). This album is well on its way to becoming a seasonal favourite!

Diana Panton is a sensitive singer with a lovely voice who brings a warm glow to all 15 tracks on “Christmas Kiss”. She deftly uses gossamer shading and rhythmic subtlety to recondition conservative picks like “Winter Wonderland” and more thoughtfully chosen tunes, such as Ted Shapiro’s 1941 composition “Winter Weather” and John Leslie McFarland’s “Kissing by the Mistletoe”.

Keeping things soft and sultry, Panton bridges the gap between Christmas and Valentine’s Day with the most romantic holiday songs she can muster. With a purr as smooth as whipped egg nog, Panton makes Christmas Kiss a sprig of audio mistletoe, backed by the light touch of a jazz trio of trumpeter Guido Basso, guitarist Reg Schwager and Don Thompson on bass, piano and vibraphone.


01 – Kissing by the Mistletoe
02 – Baby, It’s Cold Outside
03 – Christmas Kiss
04 – Winter Weather
05 – C’est Noël Chéri: C’est Noël Cheri
06 – Winter Wonderland
07 – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
08 – December
09 – Snowbound
10 – Winter Warm
11 – The Christmas Waltz
12 – Christmas Time Is Here
13 – Let it Snow/C’est l’hiver
14 – Images of Christmas
15 – Douce nuit (Silent Night)

Produced by Diana Panton. Co-Produced & Arranged by Don Thompson.
Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by Chad Irschick in August 2011 at Inception Sound Studios, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Diana Panton – vocals
Guido Basso – cornet, flugelhorn, trumpet
Reg Schwager – guitar
Don Thompson – bass, piano, vibraphone
Harrison Kennedy – vocals on “2”

2xHD Mastering by René Laflamme.
Executive Produced by André Perry.





%d bloggers like this: