Eddie Higgins With Strings – Moonlight Becomes You (2003) [Japan] {SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC}

Eddie Higgins With Strings – Moonlight Becomes You (2003) [Venus Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:52 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,97 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 0,99 GB
Genre: Jazz

Moonlight Becomes You finds jazz pianist Eddie Higgins leading a quintet featuring Joe Cohn (guitar), Jay Leonhart (bass), Joe Locke (vibraphone) and Joe Ascione (drums) in a sophisticated set of standards with string arrangements by Dick Lieb.

Eddie Higgins fronts a quintet, with string arrangements by Dick Lieb backing him on most tracks, as he covers ten standards. The effect of this lineup invites comparisons to the George Shearing Quintet of old. Vibraphonist Joe Locke, guitarist Joe Cohn, bassist Jay Leonhart, and drummer Joe Ascione are first-rate musicians who primarily stick to supporting roles, though Cohn’s tasty solo in “The Folks Who Live on the Hill” and Leonhart’s call and response with the leader and Locke’s dancing vibes add some variety in a brisk treatment of “If I Should Lose You.” The snappy arrangement of “Have You Met Miss Jones?” showcases Higgins and Locke. The final track, “When April Comes,” is an original ballad by the leader in a soft bossa nova setting. The overall effect of this recommended release makes it perfect for late-evening listening with someone special.

01. What Is There To Say
02. Moonlight Becomes You
03. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
04. If I Should Lose You
05. How Deep Is The Ocean
06. Have You Met Miss Jones?
07. I’ll Be Around
08. The Nearness Of You
09. Be Careful,It’s My Heart
10. When April Comes

Produced by Todd Barkan & Tetsuo Hara. Conducted & Arranged by Dick Lieb.
Engineered by James Farber. Mixed & Mastered by Shuji Kitamura & Tetsuo Hara.
Recorded on August 26-27, 2003 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # TKGV-1003.

Eddie Higgins – piano
Joe Locke – vibraphone
Joe Cohn – guitar
Jay Leonhart – bass
Joe Ascione – drums
Andre Emelianoff, Charles Curtis – cello
Lois Martin, Shmuel Katz – viola
Edith Hines, Harumi Rhodes, Svetlana Tsoneva – violin







%d bloggers like this: