Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Gustavo Gimeno – Debussy: La mer, Ibéria, Images & 6 Épigraphes antiques (2018) [DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC]

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Gustavo Gimeno – Debussy: La mer, Ibéria, Images & 6 Épigraphes antiques (2018)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 01:18:04 minutes | 3,09 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:18:04 minutes | 1,31 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | © PentaTone

Released in the year of Claude Debussy’s death centenary, this album demonstrates the exceptional harmonic and colouristic richness of his music. Centrepiece of the album is La Mer (1903-1905), a musical realization of the composer’s “sincere devotion to the sea” that revolutionized orchestral composition in the early twentieth-century.

Iberia takes the listener on a trip to Spain, whereas the Six Epigraphes antiques (1914), here performed in the orchestration of Rudolf Escher, evoke ancient Greece and Egypt. The biggest novelty on this album is Colin Matthews’s new, lush orchestration of Images, Book 1 (1901-1905), one of Debussy’s most-cherished piano works.

With this Debussy collection, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg and its Music Director Gustavo Gimeno continue their acclaimed Pentatone series of composer portraits that already featured monographs of Shostakovich, Bruckner, Ravel, Mahler and Stravinsky.

“The performances throughout by the Orchestre Philharmonique Morning Rain) du Luxembourg under Gustavo Gimeno are excellent, highly polished yet full of subtle nuance, wit and spirit, beautifully captured in SACD sound” – BBC Music Magazine


Debussy, Claude Achille (1862-1918)
La Mer (1903-1905)
1. I De L’aube A Midi Sur La Mer (From Dawn To Midday on the Sea) 8:49
2. II Jeux De Vagues (Play of The Waves) 6:50
3. Dialogue Du Vent Et De La Mer (Dialogue of The Wind and the Sea) 8:25
Ibéria (1905-1908)
4. Par Les Rues Et Les Chemins (Through the Streets and the Paths) 7:17
5. Les Parfums De La Nuit (The Fragance of the Night) 7:44
6. Le Matin D’un Jour De Fête (The Morning of a Festival Day) 4:55
Images. Premier Livre (1901-1905) – Orchestrated by Colin Matthews
7. I Reflets Dans L’eau (Reflections on the Water) 6:12
8. II Hommage A Rameau (Tribute to Rameau) 7:59
9. III Mouvement (Movement) 4:20
Six Épigraphes Antiques (1914) – Orchestrated by Rudolf Escher
10. Pour Invoquer Pan, Dieu Du Vent D’été (To Invoke Pan, God of the Summer Wind) 2:17
11. Pour Un Tombeau Sans Nom (For a Nameless Tomb) 3:42
12. Pour Que La Nuit Soit Propice (In Order That the Night be Propitious) 2:07
13. Pour La Danseuse Aux Crotales (For the Dancer with Crotales) 2:32
14. Pour L’Egyptienne (For the Egyptian Woman) 2:58
15. Pour Remercier La Pluie Au Matin (To Thank the Morning Rain) 2:15

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
Gustavo Gimeno – conductor

Label: PentaTone
PTC 5186627
Release Date: November 16, 2018
Original Recording Format: DSD64
Recording Type & Bit Rate: DSD64



FLAC 24bit/192kHz


%d bloggers like this: