Poco – Cantamos & Seven (1974) [Reissue 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Poco – Cantamos / Seven (1974) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 72:31 minutes | Scans included (LQ) | 3,3 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Scans incl. (LQ) | 1,59 GB
2LP on 1SACD | Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Label: Vocalion # CDSML 8543
Genre: Country Rock

Dating from 1974, this 2-on-1 from country rock’s most under-appreciated band followed the departure of founder Richie Furay, Poco by this point dominated by Paul Cotton. Both albums – Vocalion has chosen not to put them in chronological order – were filled with a mix of hard-driving rockers and wistful ballads, the best moments belonging to Timothy B Schmit, who would soon leave to join The Eagles. This SACD offers the original quadraphonic mix as well as stereo, and the 4-channel format’s spatial oddities are less intrusive than one might imagine. A welcome reissue, especially given the 44-year gap since the quad mix was available.

This album marks the emergence of Rusty Young as a composer of merit. Side one rocks out hard and fresh while the second side deals with lost love and broken-hearted romance. Much of the magic of their earlier albums has been recaptured.

With strong, soaring harmonies, a healthy balance between acoustic country-rock and heavy rock & roll, and some fairly strong songs, Seven is a major surprise, given that this is the group’s first post-Richie Furay album. George Grantham’s drumming is a special highlight (check out his solo on “Drivin’ Wheel”), but all of the playing is superb, and with one or two additional strong songs, this would be a highly recommended album, and as it is, it’s quite good. Unfortunately, not everything here is as strong as “Drivin’ Wheel” or “Rocky Mountain Breakdown”.


01. Sagebrush Serenade
02. Susannah
03. High and Dry
04. Western Waterloo
05. One Horse Blue
06. Bitter Blue
07. Another Time Around
08. Whatever Happened to Your Smile
09. All the Ways
10. Drivin Wheel
11. Rocky Mountain Breakdown
12. Just Call My Name
13. Skatin
14. Faith in the Families
15. Krikkits Song Passing Through
16. Angel
17. Youve Got Your Reasons

Paul Cotton – guitar, vocals
Rusty Young – steel guitar, banjo, guitar, vocals
Timothy B. Schmit – bass, vocals
George Grantham – drums, vocals

Tracks “01-09” is “Cantamos” (LP ‘1974)
Tracks “10-17” is “Seven” (LP ‘1974).
Remastered from the original analogue master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.





%d bloggers like this: