Shigeko Toya with The Masaru Imada Trio (1972) [Japan 2006] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Shigeko Toya with The Masaru Imada Trio (1972) [Japan 2006]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:08 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,62 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 930 MB

Shigeko Toya was considered a rising star in jazz singing when she made this debut album for the Three Blind Mice label in 1972. Classically trained pianist, she had taken voice lessons and developed her unique, soulful style. Unfortunately for her fans, she made only albums before getting married and retiring completely.

Shigeko Toya is accompanied by an experienced trio led by Masaru Imada on either organ or piano. There are two instrumental piano trio numbers (“Tadd’s Blues” and “Hymn to Freedom”) while Toya accompanies herself on two (“My Funny Valentine” and “Yesterday”). This is a rare vintage album produced with lots of tender loving care.


01. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
02. Georgia On My Mind
03. Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
04. Tadd’s Blues
05. Hymn To Freedom
06. My Funny Valentine
07. Call Me Irresponsible
08. Yesterday

Shigeko Toya – vocals, piano on “6 & 8”
Masaru Imada – organ, piano
Isao Fukui – bass
Masatsuka Nagashiba – drums

Produced by Takeshi Fujii. Engineered by Yoshihiko Kannnari.
Recorded on October 17, 18, 1972 at Aio Studio, Tokyo, Japan.
Three Blind Mice / Sony Music Direct, Japan # MHCP 10029



%d bloggers like this: