Duke Ellington and Count Basie – First Time! The Count Meets the Duke (1961) [Reissue 2002] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Duke Ellington & Count Basie – First Time! The Count Meets the Duke (1961) [Reissue 2002]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 73:23 minutes | Scans included | 3,00 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,53 GB

At first glance this collaboration should not have worked. The Duke Ellington and Count Basie Orchestras had already been competitors for 25 years but the leaders’ mutual admiration (Ellington was one of Basie’s main idols) and some brilliant planning made this a very successful and surprisingly uncrowded encounter. On most selections Ellington and Basie both play piano (their interaction with each other is wonderful) and the arrangements allowed the stars from both bands to take turns soloing. “Segue in C” is the highpoint but versions of “Until I Met You,” “Battle Royal” and “Jumpin’ at the Woodside” are not far behind.

01. Battle Royal
02. To You
03. Take The A Train
04. Corner Pocket (aka Until I Met You)
05. Wild Man (aka Wild Man Moore)
06. Segue In C
07. B D B
08. Jumpin’ At the Woodside
09. One More Once
10. Take The A Train (The Count Departs) [Rehearsal & alternate takes]
11. Jumpin’ At the Woodside [Alternate take]
12. B D B [Alternate take]
13. Blues In Hoss’ Flat (Blues In Frankie’s Flat)
14. Wild Man (aka Wild Man Moore) [Alternate take]
15. Battle Royal [Rehersal & alternate takes]
16. Pause Track [Blank Track]

Engineered for SACD by Mark Wilder.





%d bloggers like this: