Billie Holiday – Body And Soul (1957/2011) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Billie Holiday – Body And Soul (1957/2011)
DSF 2.0 Mono DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 00:37:13 minutes |  1,6 GB | Genre: Jazz , Blues
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 45:55 minutes | 943 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Acoustic Sounds / Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | © Verve Records
Recorded in Los Angeles #1, 3 January 7, 1957; #2, 4, 5 to 7 January 9, 1957; #8 January 3, 1957.

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original analog master tapes to vinyl and PCM. The DSD was sourced from the PCM. George listened to all of the different A/D converters he had before he chose which to use, and he felt the George Massenburg GML 20 bit A/D produced the best and most synergistic sound for the project.

Small jazz groups brought out the best in Billie Holiday – especially groups as good as the one heard on this classic 1957 recording. Ben Webster, Harry “Sweets” Edison and the other members of this stellar ensemble were not just gifted soloists but sensitive accompanists as well. Lady Day was rarely more ably supported than she was on this program of sturdy standards, including three gems by the Gershwin brothers -and she rarely sounded more luminous.

This session comes from close to the end of the line (1959) in the erstwhile swinging company of Barney Kessel on guitar, Ben Webster on tenor, and naysayers will be quick to point out that Lady Day wasn’t in peak form here. But Billie Holiday with some of the platinum chipped off the pipes is still way better than a buncha finger-snappin’ wannabes anyday. Her interpretations of the title cut, “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off,” and “Darn That Dream” hold you in the palm of her hand with their gentle swing and the band support here is never less than stellar. This Mobile Fidelity reissue (also available as an audiophile vinyl pressing) features in-the-control-room sound that makes this session sound even cozier. The Lady sings and swings. –Cub Koda

1 Body And Soul 6:18
2 They Can’t Take That Away From Me 4:09
3 Darn That Dream 6:16
4 Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off 3:22
5 Comes Love 3:58
6 Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You 5:35
7 Embraceable You 6:46
8 Moonlight In Vermont 3:48

Drums – Alvin Stoller (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 8), Larry Bunker (tracks: 2, 4, 6, 7)
Guitar – Barney Kessel
Piano – Jimmy Rowles
Saxophone – Ben Webster
Trumpet – Harry “Sweets” Edison
Vocals – Billie Holiday



%d bloggers like this: