Yellow Magic Orchestra – Naughty Boys (1983) [Japan 2019] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Yellow Magic Orchestra – Naughty Boys (1983) [Japan 2019]
PS3 Rip | 2x SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 80:47 minutes | Scans included | 3,26 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,78 GB

Naughty Boys is the sixth album by Yellow Magic Orchestra, recorded from October 1982 to March 1983. It contains the pop-oriented single “Kimi ni Mune Kyun”, as well as a “preview” of “You’ve Got to Help Yourself”, which was released in its full version on the companion album Naughty Boys Instrumental, and again with vocals on Service. A remix album, Naughty Boys Instrumental contained nearly the entire Naughty Boys album as instrumental tracks in an entirely different running order, as well as the b-side to “Kimi ni, mune kyun.”, “Chaos Panic”; and the full instrumental version of “You’ve Got to Help Yourself”, which was released in “preview” form on the previous album.

Posturing themselves as the synth-pop stars they already were (though only strictly speaking), Naughty Boys is more of a landmark for Japanese pop than electronic music. Beginning with the synth-pop hit “Kimi Ni Mune Kyun” (featuring vocals just as accomplished as its production), the album clearly sounds different; previous YMO material had never sounded explicitly like Asian pop music before. That said, it’s still a solid album of commercial synth-pop and showed the group was still cultivating their Western connections, with help from guitarist Bill Nelson.


01. Kimi Ni Mune Kyun -Uwaki Na Bakansu-
02. Expected Way
03. Focus
04. Ongaku
05. Opened My Eyes
06. You’ve Got To help Yourself
07. Lotus Love
08. Kai-Koh
09. Expecting Rivers
10. Wild Ambitions

DISC 2 – Instrumental:
01. Chaos Panic
02. Expected Way
03. Focus
04. Kai-Koh
05. Expeceted Rivers
06. You’ve Got To Help Yourself
07. Lotus Love
08. Ongaku
09. Opened My Eyes
10. Wild Ambitions

Digitally Remastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, Portland, Maine.

Haruomi Hosono – Bass, Synth Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Keyboards, Vocals
Yukihiro Takahashi – Vocals, Electronic drums, Cymbals, Keyboards



%d bloggers like this: