Byther Smith – Addressing The Nation With The Blues (1989) [Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Byther Smith – Addressing The Nation With The Blues (1989) [Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 61:20 minutes | Scans included | 4,26 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,3 GB
Genre: Blues

Strictly judging from the lyrical sentiment of his recordings, it might be wise not to make Chicago guitarist Byther Smith angry. Smitty’s uncompromising songs are filled with threats of violence and ominous menace (the way blues used to be before the age of political correctness), sometimes to the point where his words don’t even rhyme. They don’t have to, either — you’re transfixed by the sheer intensity of his music.

Smith was so far outside the domestic blues loop that this Chicago-cut set only found release on a British logo, JSP. It was our loss — Smith is typically brusque and ominous, threatening to “Play the Blues on the Moon” and “Addressing the Nation with the Blues” as only he can. Nothing derivative about his lyrical muse — he’s intense to the point of allowing his words not to rhyme to make his points, while his lead guitar work is inevitably to the point.

01. What Have I Done
02. Movin’ On
03. I Was Coming Home
04. What Is This
05. Looking For A Woman
06. Play The Blues On The Moon
07. I Wish My Mother Was Here
08. Hello Mrs Brown
09. Addressing The Nation With The Blues
10. You Should Be Proud Of Your Daughter
11. Put Your Arms Around Me

Byther Smith – Vocals, Guitar
Charles Fisher – Rhythm Guitar
Bruce Felgen – Bass
Tim McKinley – Keyboards, Piano
George Hawkins – Drums



%d bloggers like this: